Services and Facilities

Borrowing

MtA Alums and Tantramar area residents are eligible for a free Library card with Interlibrary Loan privileges 

Tantramar Regional High School students & area visitor are eligible to borrow items from MtA Libraries  

• Visit Access Services to get your account. 2 pieces of ID are required
  • Under 18 needs guardian approval
• Library accounts:
  • Community borrower: valid for 5 years 
  • Students: valid for 1 year 
  • Visitors: valid for duration of visit 
• Loan periods are typically 3 weeks
• Renewals - maximum 3 renewals
• Loan limits:
  • Alumni and community borrowers: 10 items at one time
  • Students & visitors: max 2 items, limited to MtA collections
• Bell Collection of Acadiana - Contact Access Services staff to consult materials
  • These items are in library use only
  • Request scans/photocopies of these materials through Access Services staff
    • Copy requests must be within Fair Dealing or other applicable exceptions   
• Overdue fines may apply See Borrowing policy
• Electronic resources (ebooks, online journals, etc.) can be accessed on campus (no off campus access)

Access your Library Account 

Go to My Library Account   

Click 'Other sign in options'

User ID = Enter your library card barcode

Password = Enter your password

Can't remember your password? Select 'Forgot Password' and enter your library card number in the User ID field, then Send

A password reset process will be emailed immediately; check your spam/junk folder if you do not see it

Follow the instructions to set a new password

Computers & WiFi

• Visit Access Services staff to get a guest pass to use library computers or access the MtA wireless network on your own device
  • Guest pass changes daily

Library Research Database Access

• Databases can be accessed while on campus using personal devices or MtA desktops
  • Save or email results for access to them off campus

Research Help

• Looking for information or resources and don't know where to start? Librarians can help 

Archives Access

• Doing local research or trying to local archives? Contact MtA Archives 

Printing, Scanning, Photocopying 

Multipurpose printer / scanner / photocopiers devices are located:

• Main Library: in the Flying Bean Cafe, main floor
• Music Library: just outside Music Library entrance  

Printing

Black & white simple printing jobs can be done in the library:

• Email the print ready file, eg. PDF, MS Word to circ@mta.ca
• Indicate how many copies, single or double sided
• Pay with cash:
  • Letter (8 1/2" x 11") & Legal (8 1/2" x 14") 
    • B&W - $0.20 per side
    • Colour - $0.65 per side
  • Tabloid (11" x 17")
    • B&W - $0.25 per side

Other jobs may be better sent to MtA Printing Services:

• Email the print ready file (eg. PDF, MS Word) to printjobs@mta.ca and specify:
  • Printing specifications as needed (eg. black & white or colour, single/double sided, number of copies, etc.)
  • Finishing options (eg. staples, hole punching, lamination, binding, etc.)
  • Need by / Pickup date and time 
• Service details:
  • Pay in advance (credit, debit) over the phone or in person (cash, credit debit)
  • Pickup item at the MtA Bookstores [campus map] 
  • Contact printjobs@mta.ca for full services offered and pricing

Printing from Microfilm

• Save your scan(s) then email to circ@mta.ca for printing

Scanning

• See Access Services staff to borrow the guest card
• Tap the guest card on the Wave ID card reader at the multifunction device
• Choose the Scan function
• Select options as needed (for multi-page jobs select the '1 sided' option and change to '1->2 sided' pages)
• Specify the email address for delivery
• Scanning is free

Photocopying

• See Access Services staff to borrow the guest card
• Tap the guest card on the Wave ID card reader at the multifunction device
• Choose the Photocopy function
• Select options as needed (for double-sided copies select the '1 sided' option and change to '1->2 sided' pages)
• Pay with cash 
  • Black & white: $0.20 per side letter & legal, $0.25 per side tabloid
  • Colour: $0.65 per side letter & legal 
• Copies from the Bell Acadiana Collection must be requested through Access Services and must be within Fair Dealing guidelines unless in the public domain

Interlibrary Loan (ILL) Services

Interlibrary loan (ILL) is a service that will facilitate getting access to research resources not available at MtA Libraries from other libraries. The service is free as the costs are absorbed by the Libraries 

FAQs & Help Guide | ILL Policy | Info for Libraries

Place ILL Request   

Contact

nbsam@mta.ca |  506-364-2212