The library is your go-to source for the materials you need for research and teaching. We have over 500,000 print and ebooks and 33,000 journals in the collection and have access to thousands more through consortial agreements. This guide lays out services that may be useful to you as a faculty member and provides an overview of our collections.
Use your MtA username & password (same as Connect and your email)
Use your MtA email address & same password as for Connect and your email
Don't know your ID or PIN? Have questions? Email nbsam@mta.ca
Request resources for the library collections using this form or contact your subject librarian
Borrowing Library Materials (Circulating Items):
Your Mount Allison University ID card is your Library Card. Faculty and staff get term loans. Patrons can place recalls on items on loan, which may shorten a loan period.
As a member of the Novanet Library Consortium, you can borrow books from any academic library in Nova Scotia. Click "Request from Other Libraries" in the Novanet catalogue. This is a free library service using Canada Post. Items typically arrive within three days to a week. Standard loan periods apply.
You may renew items online through your Novanet account, by e-mail or phone by calling 506 364-2568 (R.P. Bell Library) or 506 364-2561 (Music Library).
Since 2020, Novanet libraries do not charge fines on overdue items with the exception of course reserves, recalled items, and some equipment. Learn more here.
Interlibrary Loan (ILL)
ILL is a free service that provides copies or loans of items not available at MtA Libraries or our sister Novanet libraries. The databases and library catalogue should link you through to the Interlibrary Loan Form when needed. Questions? Contact our Interlibrary Loans and Copyright Coordinator (nbsam@mta.ca).
Course Reserves
Placing books or other items on course reserve ensures all students have access to materials required for your courses. Place physical or electronic items on reserve by completing a web form or talking to our Access Services staff (circ@mta.ca).
What can subject librarians do for you?
Research Help
Librarians and archivists can use their domain expertise to provide specialized research help for you and your students. They are experts at locating resources and can help you get access to resources from across Novanet and beyond.
Collection Development
Subject librarians are responsible for purchasing new materials in their subject areas. If there's something that isn't in our collection that you would like us to purchase, contact your subject librarian.
Instruction Sessions
Your subject librarian is available for workshops and classes in the library, teaching lab, classroom, or outside of class time. Topics can include domain-specific research skills, general library skills, evaluating and citing sources, and other key components of Information Literacy Instruction.
Subject librarians can also work with you to develop classes and workshops geared towards your specific courses and projects. Get in touch to learn more!
Your research is an important part of your work as faculty, and the library is equipped to support you throughout the research and publishing process.
Scholarly Communication
Your subject librarian can help you navigate the changing landscape of scholarly publishing. If you're looking to publish in an open access journal, or looking for the best venue for your research, their knowledge of publishing venues will help you make the most impact with your publications. With their expertise in knowledge translation and knowledge mobilization, subject librarians can help you plan new ways of communicating your research with wider audiences and creating meaningful outcomes and impacts. If you have questions about resources, venues, copyright, embargoes, or any other part of the publishing process, reach out to your librarian.
Research Data Management
Mount Allison is in the process of developing a new institutional strategy for research data management, RDA@MtA, which will lay out how research data is created, handled, and preserved at Mount Allison. The new policy, currently in draft form, will meet the requirements of the Tri-Agency Research Data Management Policy in promoting responsible data stewardship. If your research receives Tri-Agency funding, your grant will require you to submit plans for data management and deposit. For support with RDM and using Mount Allison's Dataverse repository, contact Elizabeth Stregger, Data and Digital Services Librarian and check out our RDM subject guide.
Questions about borrowing and renewing?
R.P. Bell Library:
506-364-2568
circ@mta.ca
Music Library:
506-364-2561
musiclibrary@mta.ca
Renew books / check your library account online:
Want to know more about the Library of Congress Classification System? See the Understanding Call Numbers section of the Research Tips page.