Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Banner image for Mount Allison University Libraries and ArchivesBanner image link to Mount Allison UniversityMount Allison University Libraries and ArchivesImage Map
Hours | Libraries Home | Music Library | University Archives

Visual and Material Cultures Guide: Welcome

Visual and Material Culture is a new program offered at Mount Allison that examines the meaning, purpose, and value of images and objects within society. This is an interdisciplinary area of study, and the materials you look for at the library won't all be available in the same place. If you have trouble finding material for research or assignments, please contact your subject librarian.

About this Guide

This guide is designed to help you find resources and research assistance for topics in Visual and Material Cultures. Use the tabs above to navigate this guide. If you need additional information or have questions. please contact your subject librarian.

NEW!

Try out our new subscription to CAMPUS -- a selection of films available from the National Film Board of Canada. Click the link below.

Novanet: Start your research here.

Novanet LogoNovanet: Start your research here.

Quick search for books, ebooks, articles, movies, music & more.

 


Novanet Advanced Search

Searching for a particular book by title or author?  Try Browse searching.

Novanet searches many but not all library databases (details). Databases not included in Novanet can be accessed from the A-Z List of databases.

Help: Which Search Tool Should I Use? | Novanet Search Tips

Novanet LogoNovanet: Start your research here.

Quick search only for books. 

 


Novanet Advanced Search

Searching for a particular book by title or author?  Try Browse searching. 

Switch to: Novanet Classic (aka the Library Catalogue)

Help: Which Search Tool Should I Use? | Novanet Search Tips

Novanet LogoNovanet: Start your research here.

Quick search only for articles.

 


Novanet Advanced Search

Novanet searches most but not all library databases (details). Databases not included in Novanet can be accessed from the A-Z List of databases.

Help: Which Search Tool Should I Use? | Novanet Search Tips

Have a Question? We can Help!

Reference Service and Research Help

There are several ways to reach us:

  • Ask questions by phone or by email:

- Main Library Virtual Research Help Desk: 506-364-2564 | infodesk@mta.ca
- Music Library: 506-364-2561 | musiclibrary@mta.ca
- Archives: 506-364-2563 | archives@mta.ca

  • Ask questions and get help with research by chatting with a librarian online using our Chat Reference Service (use the "Ask a Librarian" widget at right of this page)  
  • Contact a Subject Librarian


Book an appointment with a Librarian

Looking for help with your research, finding information on a topic or with subject-specific databases or other resources?  Librarians are available to meet with you by phone or online.   

Use the Librarians & Archivist contact info on this page to reach us and book an appointment.