Skip to main content
Banner image link to Mount Allison UniversityMount Allison University Libraries and ArchivesImage Map
Hours | Libraries Home | Music Library | University Archives

Commerce Subject Guide: COMM 2201: Fundamentals of Marketing

A guide to key databases, reference & web sources, and research & citation guides for Commerce.

Commerce 2201: Fundamentals of Marketing

Commerce 2201: Fundamentals of Marketing

Library Research Guide
October 2016

This is a brief guide to selected information sources and research tips for the Brand Story Project in this course.

A) Finding Books
B) Finding Articles
C) Selected Other Sources
D) Citing Sources
E) Research Assistance


A) Finding Books

The marketing books in the library are generally found on the 2nd floor book stacks; call numbers starting with HF 5400...  The library also has books on some large organizations, e.g. Walmart, Tim Horton's, Oprah, etc.

Use the library catalogue (the first Quick Link on the website) to find books:

SEARCH TIPS:
To see if we have a specific book in the library, change the search option "Keyword" to "Starts with", and “words or phrase” to “Title”, and enter the title: e.g. Brand Management: Research, Theory and Practice

To find books on a topic, keyword searching is an easy way to start, but subject searching may be more efficient. Click on the link to the "Catalog Record" of the best books found to see the Subject Headings used.

Click on the subject heading in a record or search by subject heading directly by changing “words or phrase” to “LC Subject”:
e.g. Branding (Marketing)

For a more specific search, use AND to find records with both keywords:
e.g. Walmart and branding

Use OR to get alternate spellings, synonyms, or similar topics:
e.g. tourism and (marketing or branding) -- (Note: use parentheses if combining AND & OR in same search)

 

As you read through what you find, you should be watching for sources frequently cited or recommended and see if the library has those. (For books, search by book title.)


B) Finding Articles

To see if the library has a specific article, use Journal Finder:
Select Journal Finder (the second Quick Link on the Library homepage) and enter the title of the journal:

 

e.g. Ashworth, G., & Kavaratzis, M. (2009). Beyond the logo: Brand management for cities. Journal of Brand Management, 16(8), 520-531.

 

Enter: Journal of Brand Management

If your journal is listed, click on “View Title” and the link takes you to the database that contains that article. Select the correct year, volume and issue number to find the article.

Interlibrary Loan requests can be made for any articles not found.

Finding Articles on a Topic:

From the Library homepage, select the Quick Link: A-Z List of Databases

Select subject: Commerce

Note the types and numbers of publications indexed varies for each database.

ABI/INFORM Collection and Business Source Premier
- recommended for academic and professional business journals, trade and industry journals

ProQuest (All) includes the Canadian newspaper and business databases: Canadian Newsstream and Canadian Business and Current Affairs, as well as the ABI/INFORM Collection.
- recommended for broad business coverage (including also magazines and news sources) and the most Canadian content.

These are excellent sources for articles on individual organizations, brands, brand strategy, market share, consumer surveys, industry trends and forecasts, etc.

Lexis/Nexis is a good source for global business articles and information on companies and organizations.

SEARCH TIPS:

(For ProQuest and Business Source Premier)

Use AND between keywords to make sure each keyword is in every record found

e.g. rbc  AND brand

Use double quotation marks for phrases longer than two words

e.g. “Royal Bank of Canada”

Use * (truncation symbol) to get all possible endings for a term

e.g. bank* gets bank, banks, banker, banking, etc.

Use OR to get one or the other term (useful for synonyms or alternate spellings)

e.g. "social marketing" or "cause marketing"

In 'Advanced Search' you can limit the fields searched. e.g. Company/Org,

e.g. Apple in Company/Org.

Check out the other search options available in each database to improve your search results.

Evaluate the articles you find using the metadata provided: Note the terms used in the abstract, the subject terms assigned and other clues about how to make your next searches more precise.

TIP:

Do NOT limit results to Full Text documents only!
Where the full text of an article indexed is not available directly, there is a link provided to the full text in other databases or in the library catalogue. Click on the "Find at MTA" link to see the article.


C) Selected Other Sources

There are many specialized print and online reference tools for marketing-related research. The following are just a few that may be useful for the Group Project: (Note: REF=Reference Collection, main floor of the library)

Corporate & Competitive Analysis   (Information about the organization, its competitors, and how they differ.)

Your Organization's website. See all links, images and text provided. Use the "Site Map" if any. A google site search may find hidden pages on a topic. (e.g. keyword site:costco.ca)

Company Profiles can be found in the three recommended databases. Most include a brief description of the company and its products or services, a list of competitors and SWOT Analysis.

Industry Profiles or Overviews are also found in the major business article databases; limit searches by document type.

Canada Revenue Agency Charities Listing
- allows you to see the public portions of a registered charity's annual information return

RankingTheBrands.com
- provides access to brand rankings from around the world (e.g. "Best Canadian Brands", etc.) Search by organization.

Business Rankings Annual HG 4050 .B88 REF
- use the Index Volume to find rankings for companies, products, brands, services, and activities.

Market Share Reporter HF 5410 .M35 REF
- a compilation of tables of rankings and market share data: top brands, companies, etc.
- has separate indexes for company name, brand, product, service, etc.

National List of Advertisers HF 5808 .C3 N38 2009 REF
- use to look up brand names or company names to see the type of advertising media used and estimated amount spent on advertising.

 

Consumer Analysis:

CMF Trends Reports by the Canada Media Fund.
- twice yearly reports on the television and digital media industry in Canada; includes usage statistics of different types of social media by age group, etc.

Marketing Facts: Statistics and Trends for Marketing in Canada HF 5415.12 .C3 M37 2015 REF
- a compilation of consumer-based statistics and survey data by the Canadian Marketing Association.

Statistics Canada
- key site for statistics on the Canadian population, tourism, charitable giving, etc.

Public Opinion Polls/Consumer Surveys. Summaries of these are reported in the news and business media or on polling company websites (See e.g. Gallup, Ipsos, Nielsen, Numeris, Pew Research Center., etc.) Note: Mount Allison does not subscribe to the full content of these sites.

Search for customer/fan/donor feedback using Google, and the search options in all social media sites your organization uses (e.g. Facebook, Twitter, etc.)

 


D) Citing Sources:

Citing sources is a cornerstone of academic work; it shows your audience that you are basing your work on relevant facts and information and allows them to find the same sources you used.

Using others' ideas or words without proper acknowledgement is plagiarism, a serious academic offence. You are expected to credit all sources used for academic work. See Academic Integrity - Avoiding Plagiarism for more details.

There are several ways to cite sources. In this course you are required to use the APA citation style. This means using the APA format to cite sources briefly in the text of your paper and more fully in the Reference List at the end.  There are several brief guides on the library website that help explain how to do this and give examples for different kinds of sources.  See Research Help - APA Style Guides.

In Business Source Premier and ProQuest databases, when viewing an article or abstract, you can click on “Cite This” to see how the article can be cited in various styles.  Select “APA”. Note that these automatically generated citations may not be complete or accurate. Always check!

To save time, you should have a clear idea of the key elements required:  Author, date, article title, publication/source title, volume #, issue #, page #s. Date retrieved, if a website. Database or website name, URL or DOI. 

 


E) Research Assistance

For help with your general research questions, you can contact a librarian at the Research Help Desk in the library at infodesk@mta.ca, call 364-2564 or use the library's online chat service during the Research Help Desk hours.

 

For assistance with research specific to your Commerce assignments, please contact Anita Cannon, Commerce Librarian at acannon@mta.ca or 364-2572 or visit me in the library.