Mount A Libraries: Commerce Subject Guide: Accounting & Auditing

Commerce Reference Sources

The following pages contain a select list of dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks and other reference sources, in print and online. Items listed as "REF" can be found on the main floor of the R.P. Bell Library.

Reference Sources -- Accounting & Auditing

Definitions and Concepts -- Accounting & Auditing

Dictionary of Accounting Terms. HF 5621 .S54 2000 REF

Handbooks & Guides -- Accounting & Auditing

Canadian Business Compliance Manual. HF 5635 .C37 (2 vols.) REF
- a reference source for basic accounting, legal, and financial information.

Canadian Tax Research: A Practical Guide. HJ 4661 .C665 2010 REF
- provides a framework for researching and answering tax questions.

Financial Reporting in Canada. By CICA. HF 5681 .B2 F553 Latest in REF
- A survey and analysis of 200 Canadian annual reports.

Practitioner's Income Tax Act. KE 5753.9 .P73 2013 REF
- An annotated version of the Income Tax Act, with explanatory notes, references to recent cases and articles, outline of changes, subject index, etc.

Online Handbooks -- Accounting & Auditing

Research Handbook on Accounting and Ethics by Marion Brivot and Charles H. Cho
Call Number: e-book
Publication Date: 2023

CPA Canada Standards and Guidance Collection This link opens in a new window
(Formerly CICA Standards and Guidance Collection.) Collection of Canadian professional standards, practice aids, accounting and auditing resources. Includes: CPA Canada Handbook – Accounting, CPA Canada Handbook – Assurance, and CPA Canada Public Sector Accounting Handbook (formerly CICA handbooks) and other related publications.
Produced by the Chartered Professional Accountants of Canada. Access to PEG (Professional Engagement Guide), IFRS (International Financial Reporting Standards), and tax news sources available through the “Subscriptions” tab.
International Financial Reporting Standards
This searchable collection provides you with the complete set of the latest International Financial Reporting Standards incorporating International Accounting Standards and Interpretations. Also includes all current IASB Exposure Drafts, Draft Interpretations, and a Glossary of Terms.
By the Chartered Professional Accountants of Canada. Access to PEG (Professional Engagement Guide),CPA Canada Standards and Guidance Collection, and tax news sources available through the “Subscriptions” tab.
Professional Engagement Guide (PEG)
The Professional Engagement Guide (PEG), Formerly C-PEM – Canadian Professional Engagement Manual -- Contains practical guidance on the key requirements and concepts in the professional standards and provides a comprehensive road map to performing effective and efficient engagements in Canada today. Includes Core Concepts, Professional Guidance and Templates (all forms-checklists-letters in fillable Word format) modules. Plus current 300+-page Model Financial Statements for Private Enterprises AND for Private Sector Not-for-Profit Organizations PDF files.
By the Chartered Professional Accountants of Canada. Access to the CPA Canada Standards and Guidance Collection, IFRS, and tax news sources available through the “Subscriptions” tab.