Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Recommended Websites for Commerce
The following pages include selected online sources recommended for research and assignments in Commerce:
Recommended Websites -- Human Resource Management, Labour & Organizational Behaviour
- 100 Best Companies to Work For (U.S.) By Fortune Magazine.
Rankings are based on an evaluation of each company's policies and culture, and the opinions of employees.
- Adapting Canadian Work and Workplaces to Respond to Climate Change. ACW is made up of many labour and environmental organizations and individual researchers in Canada, with international partners. The website has research reports, presentations, etc. and several databases including Green Collective Agreements, Green Education and Training, and Green Initiatives databases.
- Best Workplaces in Canada Lists. By Great Place to Work Institute of Canada.
Ranks workplaces based on employee surveys at Great Place to Work Certified™ organizations across all industries in Canada.
- Canada's Best Managed Companies. An award program since 1993 sponsored by Deloitte Private, CIBC, Canadian Business, Smith School of Business and TMX Group. Winner lists and company profile articles available in Canadian Business magazine.
- Canada's Top 100 Employers By Mediacorp Canada.
This annual award for companies and organizations judges their ability to attract and retain employees. (Shows perks, benefits, and other details.) The site also links to national and regional competitions and to the Financial Post Ten Best Companies to Work For, which judges working conditions and career advancement opportunities. Other categories: Diversity, Family, Immigrant, Over 50, Young & Earth-friendly.
- Canadian Labour Unions.
Archived by the University of Toronto, this is a collection of documents published on the websites of Canada's public sector unions, private sector unions, and labour federations since March 2006. The collection is national in scope. Most websites include administrative and organizational information, press releases and newsletters, and collective bargaining information (including some collective agreements).
- CanOSH: Canada's National Workplace Health & Safety Website
Maintained by the Canadian Centre for Occupational Health & Safety, this site brings together federal, provincial & territorial statisitcs, legislation, alerts and bulletins, news and other resources on workplace health and safety issues.
- Executive Compensation (Canada)
Public companies trading on Canadian stock exchanges are required to file executive compensation information with SEDAR. New rules in effect since October 31, 2011 require more detailed disclosure. See "Compensation Discussion & Analysis," which can be found in Management Information Circulars available through SEDAR.
NOTE: Canadian Registered Charities compensation information (last 5 years) available from the Canada Revenue Agency List of Charities.
- Executive Compensation (U.S.)
Public companies trading on U.S. stock exchanges must file compensation information for their top executives with the Securities Exchange Commission. This can be in the company's annual report on Form 10-K or annual proxy statements. The SEC provides guidance for accessing annual proxy statements in its EDGAR database.
NOTE: The U.S. Executive Compensation Database in Nexis Uni also includes brief biographical information. (Select Nexis Uni from the A-Z List of Databases. Click on "Menu", then "All Sources". In the "Search within Sources" box enter and select "U.S. Executive Compensation Database - Boards & Committees", click on "Add as Search Filter", then enter the company name in the top search box.)
- Global Labour Research Centres. By York University, Canada GLRC.
List of links to labour research centres around the world.
- Government of Canada Labour Program, Employment and Social Development Canada.
The federal government "Labour Program" website has federal labour laws and information on many labour issues including workplace health & safety, employment equity, collective bargaining (with wage settlements from across Canada), and others. Also here: The Negotech database of collective agreements.
- Green Collective Agreements. From the Work in the Warming World Research Project, York University. A searchable collection of "greening" clauses from Canadian collective agreements that are publicly available. Includes clauses on environmental committees, energy conservation, recycling, commuting, green procurement, etc.
- HR Council for the Nonprofit Sector
Provides HR information for nonprofit organizations: HR management standards, a toolkit, case studies, labour statistics, trends and issues, etc.
This site by the International Labor Organization (ILO) provides labour statistics for over 200 countries and territories. Topics covered include wages, labour cost, employment and unemployment, occupational injuries, hours of work, strikes and lockouts, household income, and labour migration.
- NORMLEX ILO Information System on International Labour Standards
Brings together information on International Labour Standards (e.g. ratification status, reporting requirements, etc.) as well as national labour and social security laws.
- Raising the Global Floor: Adult Labour
By the McGill Institute for Health and Social Policy, this "World Legal Rights Database" features work policy data, allowing users to measure, compare and map labour policies from around the world. Policies included cover work schedules and hours, paid leaves, health and parental issues, elder care, and other family policies.
- UK Gender Pay Gap Reporting Database. All employers with 250 or more employees are required to submit figures comparing men and women’s average pay across their organization. Data posted annual in spring since 2017. Searchable by employer name or type of business.
- Violation Tracker. By the Corporate Research Project of Good Jobs First.
A U.S. site providing information on corporate misconduct in a variety of industries, based on cases initiated by U.S. federal regulatory agencies and the Justice Dept. since 2000.
- WageIndicator. A non-profit network providing labour market information from around the world. The "Salaries" link provides information on the gender pay gap, wages, surveys, and more. “Labour Law” has information on collective bargaining, regulations, and the platform economy. “WageIndicator Foundation” lists projects, publications by year, teams/partners, countries listed, etc. Free for basic access.
- Workershelp.ca Sponsored by the national labour union CWA/SCA Canada, this site provides detailed information on employment rights in Canada and links to federal and provincial employment standards.