Skip to main content
Banner image link to Mount Allison UniversityMount Allison University Libraries and ArchivesImage Map
Hours | Libraries Home | Music Library | University Archives

Commerce Subject Guide: Marketing

A guide to key databases, reference & web sources, and research & citation guides for Commerce.

Recommended Websites -- Marketing

On this page:

Advertising
Rankings & Market Share
Public Opinion
Market Research -- Canadian & International
Marketing Gateway Sites
 

Recommended Websites for Commerce

Marketing Websites -- Advertising

For Canadian advertising resources see Marketing Hits – Other – Advertising.

Ad*Access Project. By Duke University.
- A digitized collection of over 7,000 advertisements printed in Canadian and U.S. magazines and newspapers between 1911 and 1955. Subject areas covered: radio, television, transportation, beauty & hygiene, and WW2.

For sources including the Market Share Reporter and Encyclopedia of Major Marketing Strategies, see Reference Sources -- Marketing.

Marketing Websites -- Rankings & Market Share

For Canadian information see “Rankings & Market Share” section in Marketing Hits – Corporate Analysis.

globalEDGE Rankings. By Michigan State University.
- Links to many global ranking sources by company, industry and country.

List of Lists. (Formerly Price’s List of Lists)
- Provides an excellent collection of links to company and brand rankings and market share information from magazines and web sites.


Also see the following print resources:

Busines Rankings Annual. HG 4050. B88 2013 REF
- Provides lists of top companies, products, services and other activities. Mostly American, but some international data.

Market Share Reporter. HF 5410 .M35 REF
- Annual compilation of market share data reported on companies, products and services.

Marketing Websites -- Public Opinion

For Canadian sources of opinion poll research see “Consumer Opinions and Attitudes” section in Marketing Hits – Consumer Analysis.

Summarized findings of polls are often reported in news sources. To find articles describing poll results use the term: "poll " or "survey" with your other search term(s) in databases like ProQuest, LexisNexis, etc. that contain news sources.


Gallup Polls. Information from some of the Gallup polls conducted on social issues is available on the public site. 

Harris Vault. by Harris Interactive (acquired by Nielsen in 2014). Provides results from the "Harris Poll" conducted since 1963 in the U.S., on all kinds of social issues.

Ipsos News Center. Provides summaries of recent public opinion polls conducted by Ipsos in Canada, the U.S. and Europe.

Pew Research Center.  A large collection of reports and data from polls on many social and demographic topics since 1983. 

Marketing Websites -- Market Research: Canadian & International

Canadian

For Canadian marketing research resources see: Marketing Hits: Canadian Resources for Marketing Research. Mount Allison University.


International

For international marketing research resources see: Commerce Subject Guide – International Trade.

Marketing Websites -- Gateway Sites

Marketing Hits: Canadian Resources for Marketing Research. Mount Allison University.
- Annotated links to Canadian marketing information organized by the kinds of information required for developing a marketing strategy.

KnowThis.com: Marketing Virtual Library.
- A searchable collection of links to marketing-related information on the Internet.

MarketingNorthAmerica.com.
- Provides many annotated links in categories including advertising, direct marketing, promotions, directories, market research, etc.