Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Banner image for Mount Allison University Libraries and ArchivesBanner image link to Mount Allison UniversityMount Allison University Libraries and ArchivesImage Map
Hours | Libraries Home | Music Library | University Archives

Commerce Subject Guide: Finance & Investment

A guide to key databases, reference & web sources, and research & citation guides for Commerce.

Commerce Reference Sources

The following pages contain a select list of dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks and other reference sources, in print and online. Items listed as "REF" can be found on the main floor of the R.P. Bell Library.

Reference Sources -- Finance & Investment

 

Definitions and Concepts -- Finance & Investment

Canadian Dictionary of Finance & Investment Terms. HG 151 .W47 2000 REF
- covers banking, tax, corporate finance, stocks, bonds, mutual funds and related Canadian legal terms.

Encyclopedia of Alternative Investments. HG 4521 .E53 2009 REF
- referenced articles explain hedge funds, managed futures, commodities, and venture capital terms.

Encyclopedia of Banking & Finance. HG 151 .M8 1991 REF
- detailed entries on banking, accounting, investing and other financial terms.

 


Handbooks & Guides -- Finance & Investment

Financial Services Canada. HG 185 .C3 F56 REF and available online at: Canada's Information Resource Centre (CIRC)
- provides brief profiles of the financial services sector: banks, financing & loan companies, insurance companies, investment companies, actuarial and accounting firms, and related associations.

FP Bonds - Corporate and FP Bonds - Government. Available online at: Canada's Information Resource Centre (CIRC)
- lists all outstanding publicly and privately held debt securities and how they rank against each other.

FP Equities - Preferreds & Derivatives. Available online at: Canada's Information Resource Centre (CIRC)
- lists outstanding publicly and privately held preferred shares with detailed descriptions of their features and ratings supplied by Dominion Bond Rating Service Limited. Information on derivatives covers hybrid securities, structured products, income trusts, and warrants.

Guide to Canadian Venture Capital & Private Equity Firms. HG 5158 .G84 2018 REF
- a directory of firms with contact information and the kinds of projects they support.

Handbook of Finance. HG 173 .H327 2008 REF 3 vols.
- 229 chapters provide an overview of major topics in finance.

QFinance: The Ultimate Resource. HG 173 .Q28 2010 REF
- a finance encyclopedia including essays, checklists, calculations and ratios, definitions, quotations, reading lists, etc.

 

See also Reference Sources -- Small Business & Entrepreneurship