Skip to main content
Banner image link to Mount Allison UniversityMount Allison University Libraries and ArchivesImage Map
Hours | Libraries Home | Music Library | University Archives

Commerce Subject Guide: COMM 4251: Sports Marketing

A guide to key databases, reference & web sources, and research & citation guides for Commerce.

Commerce 4251: Sports Marketing

Resources for Research in Sports Marketing

Special Reference Sources
Citing Sources
Finding Books
Finding Articles

 


Special Reference Sources


Sports Market Place Directory
. HD 9992 .U52 S667 2014 Reference collection (main floor of the library).
- Provides information on the sports marketing industry (US mainly, some Canadian and international). For example, which sports teams individual companies sponsor, and sponsors listed by sport. Details also on media, professional services, properties, leagues, venues, events, retailers, trade shows, manufacturers, etc.). Includes geographical index.

IEG’s Guide to Sponsorship. HD 59.35 .U36 Ref.
- By Lesa Ukman, President of IEG, this concise guide provides a lot of information on what sponsorship is, how and why it works, how results compare with advertising and sales promotion, why some fail, checklist of sponsor rights and benefits, brief case studies of how to measure successful sponsorships and more.

Sponsorship Report. HD 59.35 .S76 Journal Stacks (latest issue in Current Periodicals rack).
- A Canadian monthly newsletter with articles on the Canadian sponsorship marketplace.

International Encyclopedia of Women and Sports. 3 vols. GV 709 .I58 2001 Ref.
- Covers issues specific to women in sport; vol. 3 has an article on sponsorship.

Market Share Reporter. HF 5410 .M35 Ref. (updated annually)
- Statistics on market share compiled from many published sources (e.g. most sponsored sports worldwide, leading football teams by revenue, etc.)

Business Rankings Annual. HG 4050 .B88 Ref. (updated annually)
- Statistics showing top ranked businesses, brands, etc. (e.g. see under “Sports – Corporate Sponsorship” and “Corporate Sponsorship”: top sports for sponsors, top U.S. sponsors, top sponsoring industries, etc.)

A Guide to Effective Event Management and Marketing. GV 706.8 .W56 Oversize Stacks
- A practical how-to guide for planning an event, with checklists, examples, etc. A bit out of date, but the concepts and strategies are still applicable.

Developing Successful Sport Sponsorship Plans. GV 716 .S738 2013 Stacks
- A step-by-step guide to creating successful plans; includes worksheets, examples from sport organizations, and key issues to consider.

Handbook on the Economics of Sport. GV 716 .H37 2006 Stacks
- Includes chapters on marketing, finance, sponsorship, etc. Use Table of Contents and Index to find articles on general issues, individual sports, countries, etc.

Marketing Hits.
- A guide to Canadian marketing resources. Links to the above sources and more, organized by use for competitive, corporate, and  consumer analysis.


Citing Sources

See the Research Help tab on the library website for help with citing sources.

The Cite Your Sources tab links to APA guides with common examples of how to cite sources using the APA style, the more detailed OWL Purdue guide and several others. The full APA Manual is in the library, main floor: BF 76.7 .P83 Ref.

The
Other Citation Styles link includes tip sheets for using Harvard, and Chicago styles, with special business-related examples.


Tip: Make sure you have all the details required to cite the sources you use before leaving the library or the online database or website. For assistance ask at the Research Help Desk.


To Find Books in the Library

Use the online library catalogue: http://librarycatalogue.mta.ca/
(First QuickLink on the Library
homepage:  http://libraryguides.mta.ca/main)

To Search by Subject:

Select “Exact Search” to search by “LC Subject” headings, e.g.:

Sports marketing
Sports sponsorship
Sports economic aspects
Corporate sponsorship
Sports social aspects
Sports spectators

To Search by Keywords:

Combine keywords with AND for both words anywhere in the record:
e.g. fans and sport$  (use truncation symbol: “$” to get the root and all possible endings of a word, e.g. sport, sports, sporting events, etc.)

To find the book on the shelf: Note the call number and location given: (e.g. GV... 3rd floor book stacks; Oversize books are at the end of the stacks on each floor).


To Find Articles

Use journal indexes and databases: Select A-Z List of Databases (2nd QuickLink on the Library homepage)
The library subscribes to many indexes and full-text databases that allow you to search for articles on your topic.

Select a database by subject area covered or type of article needed.

ABI/INFORM Global and CBCA (Canadian Business & Current Affairs) on ProQuest. To search both together, with newspapers and other sources select ProQuest(All). Sources can be limited by type after the search. Best for Canadian content. Contain academic, trade, professional, and popular press journals, newspapers and other news sources, and some other sources like theses, reports, etc.)

Business Source Elite. Includes academic, trade, professional journals and Marketline Company Profiles.

LexisNexis Academic. For international news, legal, and company information.

SocINDEX, PsycINFO, and PsycARTICLES. These are EBSCO databases covering sociology and psychology journals and can be searched together with Business Source Elite. (Select EBSCO from A-Z List of Databases, or "Choose databases" within BSE.) Useful for articles on consumer or fan behavior.

Search Tips for Article Databases:  

Combine keywords with AND for both words anywhere in the record:
e.g. marketing and curling

Use quotation marks to search for a phrase:
e.g. "sports marketing"

Truncate terms to get the root word and all possible endings:
e.g. sport* and sponsor* ("*" in most article databases; "!" in Lexis/Nexis)

Note the Subject Terms used for articles found and search by Subject to capture all variations in terms used for a topic. 

To find the full text articles click on the PDF, Full Text or Find@MTA links.

NOTE: For articles not available online or in the library: use Interlibrary Loan.


 

Questions? Please contact the Commerce Subject Librarian:  Anita Cannon.

 

Last updated: 18 Nov. 2015  A.Cannon/R.P.Bell Library