The first athletic field was situated near the Male Academy north of Main Street and west of Rectory Lane. Criticized for being uneven and rough, the field was considered unusable after a fire at the Academy on 7 January 1882 [1] left debris on the field. [2] By 1888 cricket was played on ground presently occupied by the University Centre and baseball was played on the Male Academy ground. [3]
A new athletic field was completed by October 1892 [4] but was located a quarter of a mile from campus near the corner of York and Kirk Streets. [5] Like its predecessors this field was rough and uneven. For years The Argosy complained that the field was unsafe, and in January 1898 considered it to be "the worst football field" in all of the Maritimes. [6]
Construction of the present athletic field, known today as MacAulay Field, began on 20 October 1898. [7] The land was bequeathed to the University in 1898 by George T. Bowser. [9] The field was opened in October 1900 and cost an estimated $1,000. [8][10] As a comparison, the second University men's residence which was opened the previous month cost $80,000. [11]
The new field, then known simply as the Athletic Field, stretched 160 by 80 yards [12], and a running track encircled it. It was located to the southeast of the University men's residence and ran parallel to York Street between Salem and Lansdowne Streets. Starting in 1901 students were required to pay an annual fee of between $1.00 and $1.25 for use of the athletic grounds. [13] In 1908 the running track was replaced by a new quarter-mile cinder track, which at $1,300 [14] cost more than the field did ten years earlier.
The Athletic Field became a focal point for sports at Mount Allison. In 1912 Lingley Hall was rebuilt at the western end of the field and became the new University Gymnasium. [15] In 1919 Mount Allison's first institutional skating rink was built on the other side of Lansdowne Street. [16]
Mount Allison University Archives, [creator not identified], accession 5502, page 36, picture 3 of 3. May only be reproduced with permission of the Mount Allison University Archives.
View looking north-northwest. Campus buildings, left-right: Athletic Field; (second) Men's University Residence; Owen's Art Gallery; Conservatory of Music; Allison Hall; Hart Hall; Male Academy.
Mount Allison University Archives, Mrs. D.A. Mahon fonds, 7923/4. May only be reproduced with permission of the Mount Allison University Archives.
View looking north. Campus buildings, left-right: (second) Men's University Residence; Centennial Hall; Owen's Art Gallery; Borden Hall; Dining Hall (formerly first Ladies' College gymnasium); Conservatory of Music.
Mount Allison University Archives, Picture Collection, accession 2007.07/54. May only be reproduced with permission of the Mount Allison University Archives.
Note: view looking southeast over Lansdowne Street.
Mount Allison University Archives, Donald F. Taylor fonds, accession 7601/2/23. May only be reproduced with permission of the Mount Allison University Archives.
[1] [Sackville] Transcript, vol. III, no. 20, Jan. 12, 1882, p. 3
[2] Argosy, vol. VIII, no. 8, May 1882, [untitled], p. 90
[3] Mount Allison Record, vol. XIII, no. 5, Jan. 1930, "Letter from the class of '88," by George F. Dawson, p. 81
[4] Argosy, vol. XXII, no. 1, Oct. 1892, [untitled], p. 2
[5] Mount Allison Record, vol. IX, no. 1, 1925, "The Old Barns are Removed," p. 3; Mount Allison University Archives, finding aid to accession 9940, by Donna Beal, Dec. 2002, p. 1
[6] Argosy, vol. XXIV (ns. XXVII os) n. 4 Jan. 1898, [untitled], p. 2
[7] Argosy, vol. XXV (ns) no. 2, Nov. 1898, [untitled], p. 2
[8] Argosy, vol. XXVII, no. 1, Oct. 1900, [untitled], pp. 3-4
[9] Argosy, vol. XXV (ns), no. 2, Nov. 1898, p. 2
[10] Argosy, vol. XXV (ns) no. 2, Nov. 1898, [untitled], p. 2; Mount Allison: The Central Educational Institutions of the Maritime Provinces, published by the Eurhetorian Society of the University of Mount Allison College, [1903?]
[11] Mount Allison University: A History, to 1963, by John G. Reid, 1984, pp. 233-4
[12] Argosy, vol. XXV (ns) no. 2, Nov. 1898, [untitled], p. 2
[13] Calendar and Catalogue of the University of Mount Allison College, ($1.00) 1901-2 to 1907-8, ($1.25) 1908-9 to 1915-6
[14] Argosy, vol. XXXV, no. 3, Dec. 1908 (may say vol. XXXVI), "Mount Allison Running Track," p. 106
[15] [Saint John] Globe, May 25, 1912, located in Mount Allison University Archives, R.C. Archibald fonds, accession 5501/2/3, p. 112
[16] Sackville Tribune-Post, "Tantramar Flashback," by Bill Hamilton, Apr. 11, 2001, p. 6