The Male Academy's only gymnasium before 1919 was built in 1861. It was located behind the main Academy building on ground presently occupied by Jennings Dining Hall. The gymnasium measured 36 by 60 feet and had 20 foot tall posts. [1] Although the main Academy building burned down on 12 January 1866 [2] and again on 7 January 1882 [3] the gymnasium survived. [4] A handball court was first attached to the rear of the gymnasium in the mid-1860s [5] and was replaced by a new court by 1885. [6]
The gymnasium underwent significant renovations in 1892 [7], after which it was described in the Calendar of the Mount Allison Academy as being "one of the best in the provinces." [8] It was modified to allow for basketball in 1909 [9], but by 1917 Academy students were instead using the new University Gymnasium for gymnastics and basketball. [10]
1855-1910
The first gymnasium at Mount Allison was built for female students in summer 1855 [11] one year after the founding of the Ladies' College. It was located to the south of the Ladies' College building, Allison Hall, close to where the Gairdner Fine Arts Building is now. In 1865 [12] the gymnasium was lathed and plastered and was in use by Ladies' College students for calisthenics until 1891. [13] In fall 1892 [14] the gymnasium was moved behind Allison Hall, and in January 1893 [15] it became the Ladies' College dining hall.
When Mount Allison's first Conservatory of Music was built it was connected to Allison Hall on ground presently occupied by the Ralph Pickard Bell Library. It included spacious rooms on the ground floor. Beethoven Hall was formally opened on 2 June 1891 [16] and dedicated on 23 October 1891 [17]. It was separated from a large assembly room by sliding doors [18] which could be opened to create a large room for calisthenics and physical culture demonstrations, featured annually from 1892 to 1895. [19, 20] From 1901 to 1910 it was also used for basketball. [21, 22]
Hart Hall: 1910-
Hart Hall was opened in March 1910 [23] in its present location but originally connected to Allison Hall. There was a gymnasium In the basement [24] of the new building, and within a month it was identified by The Argosy (April 1910) as "Basket Ball Hall." [25] In February 1912 backboards were installed behind the basketball nets. [26]
In addition to Ladies' College and female University students, University men practiced and played basketball matches in Hart Hall from at least February 1912 to April 1913. [27, 28] The first date is noteworthy because the second University gymnasium was not destroyed by fire until 28 March 1912 [29], suggesting that the Hart Hall gymnasium was better suited for basketball than the University gymnasium.
Women continued to play basketball in Hart Hall. [30] In 1917 [31] Ladies' College students started using the new University Gymnasium for physical training. [32]
Photographic reproduction of sketch, artist unidentified.
Mount Allison University Archives, Picture Collection, accession 2007.07/155. May only be reproduced with permission of the Mount Allison University Archives.
Photographer: Robert Hallet. Picture taken from on top of Marshlands Inn (formerly Cogswell House). View looking northwest along Bridge Street.
Mount Allison University Archives, Picture Collection, accession 2007.07/158. May only be reproduced with permission of the Mount Allison University Archives.
View looking northeast. Buildings, left-right: Borden Hall, Domestic Sciences Building (formerly first Ladies' College gymnasium); Allison Hall.
Mount Allison University Archives, Picture Collection, accession 2007.07/119. May only be reproduced with permission of the Mount Allison University Archives.
Three gymnasiums for men attending the University were constructed before the end of the First World War, although very little is known about the first one. It had been built by 1876 [33] and was located close to the University. [34] In May 1882 an editorial in The Argosy suggested that the gymnasium could be better equipped. [35] On 30 January 1883 it burned down [36] and University students [37] temporarily used the Male Academy gymnasium.
Sometimes referred to as the "Early Gym" and as the first "Old Gym," the second University gymnasium was built in 1887 behind Centennial Hall, on the corner of York and Salem streets. [38][39] Upon its completion the gymnasium was hailed by The Argosy (October 1888) as being "one of the best in the provinces." [40] It was equipped with a variety of athletic apparatus including horizontal and parallel bars, rings, mattresses for tumbling, dumbbells and Indian clubs. [41]
An unidentified writer reflected back on the activity within the gymnasium in an anniversary edition of The Argosy (9 March 1940):
"Here Mount Allison men used to develop great swelling muscles of chest, shoulder, and arm as they practiced various formal gymnastic tricks on parallel high bars or rings. The great achievement was the giant swing." [42]
Use of the gymnasium from 1888 to 1904 cost students two dollars in the first term and three dollars in the second term. [43] In 1898, nine years after the introduction of electricity in Sackville [44], electric lighting was installed in the building. [45] That year Frank E. Lucas, the University's Rugby football captain, held athletics classes for people from the town of Sackville. [46]
Interest in gymnastics began to wane during the early 1900s and when University men started playing basketball in 1909 the gymnasium was too small to fit their needs. In March 1911 an editorial in The Argosy accused the University of deceiving students by claiming in its calendar that it had a "commodious" and "well-equipped" gymnasium. [47] The Argosy advocated for repairs and upgrades to the existing gymnasium to bring it in line with facilities at other colleges in the region. [48]
On 28 March 1912 [49] the gymnasium burned down claiming nearly all of the athletic apparatus. Sackville's newspaper, The Tribune, reported on 1 April 1912:
"The college boys regret most keenly the burning of the building, which, while not a very valuable one, was worth too much to be burned." [50]
Lingley Hall was a colonial style building located where Hart Hall stands now which served as a lecture and oratory hall for the Ladies' College between 1855 and 1909. In order to make room for the construction of Hart Hall in 1910, Lingley Hall was moved in the summer of 1909 [51] to a temporary position down the hill from the Ladies' College where it stood until at least May 1910. [52] It was offered for sale in June 1910. [53][54]
In spring 1912 [55] it was reconstructed as the new University Gymnasium at the head of the Athletic Field, near the University men's residence in an area presently occupied by Edwards and Thornton House residences. [56] Insurance from the previous gymnasium funded the construction of an additional 22 feet to the length of the building. [57] The new gymnasium measured 90 by 48 feet [58] and was the largest gymnasium in the Maritime provinces. [59] A handball court was constructed at the rear of the gymnasium by December 1912. [60]
In December 1914 [61] Mount Allison received government funding [62] to refit Lingley Hall as a military drill hall for the Training Corps [63] complete with a new floor, sheathed walls and ceiling, and a reconstructed foundation. New athletic apparatus was purchased over the following two years. [64][65] By April 1916 horizontal and parallel bars were installed [66] and by 1917 students of both the Ladies' College [67] and Male Academy [68] were using the gymnastics equipment and playing basketball in the new gym. There were suggestions in 1919 to install a swimming pool and a suspended running track [69], but on 31 January 1921 Lingley Hall burned down.
View looking west. Second Men's University Residence in background.
Reproduced from The Argosy, published by the Eurhetorian Society of the University of Mount Allison College, vol. XXXII, no. 7, Apr. 1906, p. 421. May only be reproduced with permission of the Mount Allison University Archives.
View looking west. Buildings, left-right: Conservatory of Music; Allison Hall; Lingley Hall; President's Cottage.
Mount Allison University Archives, Picture Collection, accession 2007.07/60. May only be reproduced with permission of the Mount Allison University Archives.
Mount Allison University Archives, Donald F. Tayor fonds, accession 7601/2/6. May only be reproduced with permission of the Mount Allison University Archives.
View looking southwest over Ladies' College Park. In this picture, Lingley Hall is seen in its temporary location, in front of the newly constructed Hart Hall (also visible).
Mount Allison University Archives, [creator not identified], accession 5502, page 60, picture 5 of 7. May only be reproduced with permission of the Mount Allison University Archives.
Mount Allison University Archives, Donald F. Tayor fonds, accession 7601/2/108. May only be reproduced with permission of the Mount Allison University Archives.
[1] Mount Allison Academic Gazette, Dec. 1861, p. 4 (for year and dimensions)
[2] [Sackville] Transcript, vol. III, no. 20, Jan. 12, 1882, p. 3; Mount Allison University: A History, to 1963, by John G. Reid, 1984, p. 100. Note: Mount Allison Record, vol. XIV, no. 2, Oct. 1930, p. 39 says January 22.
[3] [Sackville] Transcript, vol. III, no. 20, Jan. 12, 1882, p. 3
[4] [Saint John] Globe, Apr. 3, 1912, located in Mount Allison University Archives, R.C. Archibald fonds, accession 5501/2/3, p. 106: article says that the Academy gymnasium is 50 years old
[5] Mount Allison Record, vol. XVI, nos. 7-9, Apr.-Jun. 1933, "The Boys' Academy in the Sixties : By an Old Boy," by Arthur E. Cogswell, class of '68, pp. 147-8
[6] Argosy, vol. XIII, no. 2, Nov. 1885, [untitled], p. 20
[7] Argosy, vol. XXII, no. 1, Oct 1892, [untitled], p. 2 (says "the establishing of a first class gymnasium" has been made at the Academy)
[8] Calendar of the Mount Allison Academy and of the Mount Allison Commercial College, 1892-1893, p. 8; Ibid., 1893-4, p. 8
[9] Argosy, vol. XXXV (may say vol. XXXVI) no. 7, Apr. 1909, "Academy Notes," p. 279
[10] Argosy, vol. XLIII, no. 7, May 1917, "Academy Athletics," p. 360
[11] Convincing arguments for 1855: Mount Allison Academic Gazette, no. iv, Jun. 1855, "The Next Term," p. 6 (says that a gymnasium will be built for the female branch and be ready for the next term, beginning August); and Historical Notes on the Education of Women at Mount Allison 1854-1954, by Raymond Clare Archibald, p. 4. Arguments for 1854: Post card note to R.C. Archibald from J. R. Inch re: Ladies’ College buildings, Nov. 12, 1903, located in Mount Allison University Archives, R.C. Archibald fonds, accession 5501/6/1/7, p. 49; Allisonia, vol. I, no. 1, Nov. 1903, "Elocution," p. 12
[12] Historical Notes on the Education of Women at Mount Allison 1854-1954, by Raymond Clare Archibald, p. 4; Post card note to R.C. Archibald from J. R. Inch re: Ladies’ College buildings, Nov. 12, 1903, located in Mount Allison University Archives, R.C. Archibald fonds, accession 5501/6/1/7, p. 49 (says “1864 or 1865”)
[13] New gymnasium, Beethoven Hall, formally opened June 2, 1891
[14] Mount Allison University Archives, Mount Allison Historical Data, 1833-2005 (timeline), by Donna Beal
[15] Mount Allison University Archives, Mount Allison Historical Data, 1833-2005 (timeline), by Donna Beal (for month and year); Mount Allison Ladies' College, a short history, by John G. Reid, 1984, under "Historical Notes" [no pp.] (for year, not month)
[16] Catalogue of the Mount Allison Wesleyan Ladies' College and Conservatory of Music, 1891-92, "Special Circular - New Conservatory," p. 42
[17] Mount Allison University Archives, Mount Allison Historical Data, 1833-2005 (timeline), by Donna Beal
[18] Catalogue of the Mount Allison Wesleyan Ladies' College and Conservatory of Music, 1891-92, "Special Circular - New Conservatory," p. 42
[19] (1892): Programme, Anniversary Exercises, Mount Allison Institutions, [May 1892], located in Mount Allison University Archives, R.C. Archibald fonds, accession 5501/6/1/1, p. 55; Chignecto Post and Borderer, Jun. 2, 1892, "Calisthenics," located in Mount Allison University Archives, R.C. Archibald fonds, accession 5501/6/1/1, [before p. 54]. (1893): Programme, Anniversary Exercises, 1893, located in Mount Allison University Archives, R.C. Archibald fonds, accession 5501/6/1/1, p. 15
[20] Programme, Anniversary Exercises, 1895, located in Mount Allison University Archives, R.C. Archibald fonds, accession 5501/6/1/1, p. 5
[21] Argosy, vol. XXVIII, no. 2, Nov. 1901, "Ladies' College Notes," p. 60
[22] Year in which Hart Hall gymnasium built
[23] Argosy, vol. XXXVI, no. 6, Mar. 1910, "L.C. Notes," p. 240
[24] Argosy, vol. XXXVII, no. 8, May 1911, "L.C. Notes," p. 392
[25] Argosy, vol. XXXVI, no. 7, Apr. 1910, "L.C. Notes," p. 282
[26] Allisonia, vol. IX, no. 2, Mar. 1912, "Sports," p. 67
[27] Argosy, vol. XXXVIII, no. 5, Feb. 1912, "Athletics," p. 257
[28] Argosy, vol. XXXIX, no. 7, Apr. 1913, "Athletics," p. 422
[29] [Moncton] Times, Mar. 29, 1912, "Mount Allison Won in College Debate," p. 1 [report filed March 28]
[30] Argosy, vol. XLI, no. 2, Nov. 1914, "Athletics," pp. 136-41
[31] Mount Allison Record, vol. I, no. 2, Jan. 1917 [says 1916], p. 2
[32] Mount Allison Record, vol. II, no. 8, May 1918, "Ladies' College Closing," p. 4
[33] Mount Allison University Archives, Mount Allison Historical Data, 1833-2005 timeline, by Donna Beal, says College Gymnasium built 1876-7. Note: Argosy, vol. XXIV, no. 5, Feb. 1895, "History of the Gymnasium," p. 16 says first gymnasium at Mount Allison built in 1866, but that is probably an error
[34] Argosy, vol. IX, no. 4, Jan. 1883, [untitled], p. 43
[35] Argosy, vol. VIII, no. 8, May 1882, [untitled], p. 90
[36] Argosy, vol. IX, no. 4, Jan. 1883, [untitled], p. 43
[37] Argosy, vol. XIV, no. 2, Nov. 1886, [untitled], p. 19
[38] Students' Handbook, 1910-11, "Plan of Campus of the Mount Allison University, 1910"
[39] Argosy, vol. XIV, no. 3, Dec. 1886, [untitled], p. 31 says construction has begun; Calendar and Catalogue of the University of Mount Allison College, 1887, p. 43 says gymnasium is built
[40] Argosy, vol. XVIII, no. 1, Oct. 1888, "Sackvilliana," p. 11
[41] Argosy, vol. LXVI, no. 18, Mar. 9, 1940, "Mount Allison Of Earlier Years," by E.E. Hewson, class of 1891, pp. 2, 16
[42] Argosy, vol. LXVI, no. 18, Mar. 9, 1940, "Forty Years Ago," p. 10
[43] Calendar and Catalogue of the University of Mount Allison College, 1888-9 (and subsequent years up to 1903-04), p. 46
[44] At the Crossroads, by Bill Hamilton, 2004, p. 132
[45] Argosy, vol. XXIV (ns) (XXVII os) no. 5, Feb. 1898, "Athletics," pp. 17-8
[46] Argosy, vol. XXIV (ns) (XXVII os) no. 7, Apr. 1898, "Athletics," pp. 14-15
[47] Argosy, vol. XXXVII, no. 6, Mar. 1911, "Editorial," pp. 290-1
[48] Argosy, vol. XXXVII, no. 6, Mar. 1911, "Editorial," pp. 290-1
[49] [Moncton] Times, Mar. 29, 1912, "Mount Allison Won in College Debate," p. 1 [report filed March 28]
[50] [Sackville] Tribune, vol. XI, no. 21, "Mt. Allison Wins in Joint Debate," pp. 1, 8
[51] [Saint John] Globe articles, Jun. 9 and 26, 1909
[52] Mount Allison University Archives, [fonds unknown], accession 5502, p. 60, picture 5 of 7, Ladies College Physical Culture Drill (shows Lingley Hall in front of Allison Hall and Hart Hall, therefore placing date at May 1910); George Johnstone Trueman fonds, Memorabilia from Archives office files, 8332/1/4, Drafts towards a history of Mount Allison, “The Erection of Borden Hall,” by G.J. Trueman, p. 4 (says Lingley Hall stood in front of Allison Hall for a period of “some months”)
[53] [Sackville] Tribune, "Lingley Hall for Sale" [advertisement], Jun. 16, 1910, located in Mount Allison University Archives, R.C. Archibald fonds, accession 5501/6/1/12, p. 44
[54] [Saint John] Globe, Apr. 10, 1912, located in Mount Allison University Archives, R.C. Archibald fonds, accession 5501/2/3, p. 106
[55] [Saint John] Globe, May 25, 1912, located in Mount Allison University Archives, R.C. Archibald fonds, accession 5501/2/3, p. 112
[56] Mount Allison University Archives, Map Collection (comparison made by looking at maps)
[57] Argosy, vol. XL, no. 1, Oct. 1913, "Are You Interested," by H.E. Bigelow, p. 34
[58] [Saint John] Globe, May 25, 1912, located in Mount Allison University Archives, R.C. Archibald fonds, accession 5501/2/3, p. 112
[59] [Saint John] Globe, May 25, 1912, located in Mount Allison University Archives, R.C. Archibald fonds, accession 5501/2/3, p. 112
[60] Argosy, vol. XXXIX, no. 3, Dec. 1912, p. 157a
[61] [Sackville] Tribune, Dec. 14, 1914, "Lingley Hall to be Refitted," located in Mount Allison University Archives, R.C. Archibald fonds, accession 5501/6/1/12, p. 161
[62] Argosy, vol. XLII, no. 7, Apr. 1916, "Locals," p. 455; Mount Allison University Archives, Mount Allison Historical Data, 1833-2005 (timeline), by Donna Beal
[63] Argosy, vol. XLII, no. 7, Apr. 1916, "Locals," p. 455; Argosy, vol. XLV, no. 5, Mar. 1919, "The Gymnasium," p. 178
[64] [Sackville] Tribune, Dec. 2, 1915: "In and Around old Mount A.," located in Mount Allison University Archives, R.C. Archibald fonds, accession 5501/6/1/12, p. 189; Argosy, vol. XLI, no. 3, Dec. 1915, "Locals," pp. 211-12
[65] Argosy, vol. XLII, no. 7, Apr. 1916, "Locals," p. 455
[66] Argosy, vol. XLII, no. 7, Apr. 1916, "Locals," p. 455
[67] Mount Allison Record, vol. I, no. 2, Jan. 1917 [says 1916], p. 2
[68] Argosy, vol. XLIII, no. 7, May 1917, "Academy Athletics," p. 360
[69] Argosy, vol. XLV, no. 5, Mar. 1919, "The Gymnasium," p. 178