Men's basketball was first played at Mount Allison by the Male Academy in April 1909 [1] nearly eight years after women's basketball debuted at the Ladies' College. During those eight years, basketball was the only competitive team sport played on a regular basis by women. In contrast, men competed regularly in rugby football, hockey, and track and field. However, once basketball was added to the men's roster of sports it became popular instantly.
In terms of scheduling, basketball played indoors fit nicely between the hockey and track and field seasons, which were played in the winter and late spring. In March 1910 an interclass men's basketball league was formed [2] and in 1911 members of the league competed for a cup donated by E.R. Machum. [3]
By April 1911 Mount Allison's first varsity basketball team was formed, with an elected captain and business manager. Under Lou Buckley, the 1911 team competed twice against Acadia University and against town teams from Moncton, Halifax and Yarmouth. [4] A similar slate of games was played against Acadia and several town teams in 1912. [5]
Despite modifications in 1909 the Academy gymnasium was considered unsuitable for basketball [6] and the University gymnasium was deemed too small before it burned down in March 1912. [7] So the University men used the new Ladies' College gymnasium in the basement of Hart Hall for practices and games from 1911 until at least 1913. [8]
Academy basketball teams continued to be active up to and during the First World War [9], but University discontinued the sport for some of the war years. This was common practice with varsity sports at Mount Allison and other Canadian universities. There was no record of basketball being played by University men in 1911. In 1916 interclass basketball was reintroduced, [10] and in 1917 athletes from the University and the Academy were once again competing for an interclass cup. [11] University men also played non-competitive games against local teams such as the Sackville Boy Scouts (1916 and 1917) [12, 13] and the 78th Battery, Canadian Field Artillery in 1917. [14]
Following the First World War Mount Allison's varsity team had a good practice venue in the reconstructed Lingley Hall gymnasium, and an intercollegiate league was formed. Success for the men's varsity basketball team soon followed. In 1919 Mount Allison won both the Maritime intercollegiate and Maritime amateur titles. [15]
Individuals include, left to right (top row): Joshua Peters, Louis Albert Buckley (Captain), Alex J. Fellows, and (bottom row): Frederick J.R. Kinney, John Carl Milford.
Mount Allison University Archives, Carman L. Langille fonds, 9810/1/7. May only be reproduced with permission from the Mount Allison University Archives.
One person identified: Clinton Briggs, captain. Note: Machum Cup trophy in foreground.
Mount Allison University Archives, Picture Collection, accession 2007.07/39. May be reproduced only with permission of Mount Allison University Archives
Mount Allison University Archives, Picture Collection, accession 2007.07/40. May be reproduced only with permission of Mount Allison University Archives
Mount Allison University Archives, Robert L. Benn fonds, accession 8434/09. May be reproduced only with permission of Mount Allison University Archives
[1] Argosy, vol. XXXV (may say vol. XXXVI) no. 7, Apr. 1909, "Academy Notes," p. 279
[2] Argosy, vol. XXXVI, no. 6, Mar. 1910, "Athletics," p. 252
[3] Argosy, vol. XXXVII, no. 2, Nov. 1910, "Athletics," p. 119; Argosy, vol. XXXVII, no. 7, Apr. 1911, "Athletics," p. 355
[4] Argosy, vol. XXXVII, no. 7, Apr. 1911, "Athletics," pp. 355-7
[5] Argosy, vol. XXXVIII, no. 6, Mar. 1912, "Athletics," pp. 306-7; Argosy, vol. XXXVIII, no. 7, Apr. 1912, "Athletics," pp. 362-3
[6] Argosy, vol. XXXV (may say vol. XXXVI) no. 7, Apr. 1909, "Academy Notes," p. 279
[7] Argosy, vol. XXXVII, no. 7, Apr. 1911, "Athletics," p. 355
[8] Argosy, vol. XXXVII, no. 7, Apr. 1911, "Athletics," p. 355; Argosy, vol. XXXVIII, no. 5, Feb. 1912, "Athletics," p. 253; Argosy, vol. XXXIX, no. 7, Apr. 1913, "Athletics," p. 422; Argosy, vol. XL, no. 4, Jan. 1914, "Athletics," p. 231 (by this point, practicing in the University [Lingley Hall] gym)
[9] Argosy, vol. XXXV (may say vol. XXXVI) no. 8, May 1909, "Academy Notes," p. 332; Argosy, vol. XL, no. 4, Jan. 1914, "Athletics," p. 231; Argosy, vol. XLIII, no. 4, Feb. 1917, "Academy Notes," p. 220; Argosy, vol. XLIV, no. 2, Dec. 1917, "Academy Notes," p. 85
[10] Argosy, vol. XLII, no. 5, Feb. 1916, "Locals," pp. 333-37
[11] Argosy, vol. XLIII, no. 7, May 1917, "Locals," p. 392
[12] Argosy, vol. XLIII, no. 2, Nov. 1916, "Locals," p. 117
[13] Argosy, vol. XLIV, no. 2, Dec. 1917, "Locals," p. 90
[14] Argosy, vol. XLIII, no. 5, Mar. 1917, "Locals," p. 274
[15] Mount Allison Record, vol. 41, winter 1958, "Read Cup," p. 161