Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Mount Allison University Libraries | Music Library
Banner image link to Mount Allison UniveristyMount Allison University ArchivesImage Map

Marshland: Marsh as muse

A virtual exhibit on the records of life on the Tantramar.

undefined

Marsh as muse


Wide and flat.....green and brown...windy and battered....alive with the sound of geese and insects....silent, still, quiet and brooding.... These are some of the words and phrases used to describe the marsh by those who watch its ever-changing face. The marsh continues to play the role of muse, a goddess or power that can inspire creative work. The landscape itself, including the human structures such as hay barns that were increasingly falling into a state of ruin, serves to provide inspiration to the local and regional arts community. Mount Allison University and community arts groups have offered courses and summer institutes based on marsh landscape themes. Others have explored them on their own terms. These new voices force us to focus on the longer history of this landscape and those who have shaped it. In this section we provide documents and publications produced by selected local and regional authors, poets, artists, photographers, playwrights, and people inspired by the Tantramar Marshes. Many more works are in existence and many more wait to be written, painted, photographed, and performed.

Here, right where my foot takes weight,

what Acadian sweated and froze in the

ever-wind to make these dykes? There is

a sense of history here and all

across this marsh.

- Douglas Lochhead, "September 2", High Marsh Road (Toronto, 1980)

 

Click on the documents below to learn more.

Mount Allison summer students sketching on the marsh, 1978.

Mount Allison University Archives, Mount Allison University Information Office fonds, 8805/6/5/70. May be reproduced only with permission of Mount Allison University Archives.

Children working on marsh project

Marsh projects I (1977) and II (1978)

Mount Allison University Archives, Sackville Community Arts Council fonds, 8629/B3/2. May be reproduced only with permission of Mount Allison University Archives.

Photograph of CBC Radio International Transmission Towers on Tantramar Marsh

Mount Allison Archives, Thaddeus Holownia fonds, 9020/1 Plate 7. May be reproduced only with permission of Thaddeus Holownia through the Mount Allison University Archives.

Artwork with marsh theme

Mount Allison University Archives, Sackville Community Arts Association fonds, 8629/B4/6. May be reproduced only with permission of Mount Allison University Archives.