Marshland: Web sources

ARCHIVESCANADA.ca is a gateway to archival resources found in over 800 repositories across Canada--it's your gateway to Canada's collective memory!

The Museum presents the natural and human history of Cumberland County with emphasis on its industrial and social history from Native American times to the early 20th century. Visitors can explore an art gallery; an extensive archives; a collection of genealogy material; and research room.

As the custodian of our distant past and recent history, Library and Archives Canada (LAC) is a key resource for all Canadians who wish to gain a better understanding of who they are, individually and collectively.

The Library of Congress is the largest library in the world, with millions of books, recordings, photographs, newspapers, maps and manuscripts in its collections. The Library is the main research arm of the U.S. Congress and the home of the U.S. Copyright Office

The New Brunswick Genealogical Society, Inc. (NBGS, Inc.) is a non-profit organization founded in 1978 to encourage and facilitate family historical research in New Brunswick, Canada. The Southeastern Branch of the New Brunswick Genealogical Society, Inc. is based in the Greater Moncton area. It encompasses all of Westmorland, Albert, and Kent Counties. Many of its members also have roots within Cumberland County, Nova Scotia, of which the area was part prior to the creation of New Brunswick in 1784.

The New Brunswick Museum is New Brunswick’s provincial museum. As such, it is a principal repository and steward of material that documents or represents the natural and human history of New Brunswick and other related regions. In partnership with institutions and communities we collect, preserve, research and interpret material to foster a greater understanding and appreciation of New Brunswick provincially and globally. The Archives & Research Library facility is located on the first floor of the New Brunswick Museum's Collections Centre. Staff is on duty to assist researchers.

Canadian Heritage and its portfolio organizations play a vital role in the cultural, civic and economic life of Canadians.

Collections of books and periodicals (c.48,000) which, for a variety of reasons, are held apart from the main library areas, are housed in the Archives & Special Collections Department of the Harriet Irving Library. Also found here are c.6,066 ft. of UNB's institutional records and private papers (historical and literary) relevant to New Brunswick.