Skip to main content
Mount Allison University Libraries | Music Library
Banner image link to Mount Allison UniveristyMount Allison University ArchivesImage Map

University Archives: Welcome

Information about how to conduct research at the Mount Allison University Archives

Welcome to the Mount Allison University Archives

Mount Allison University Archives are responsible for preserving records created by the university and making them accessible to the public.  These records come in many forms, from paper documents and photographs, to electronic records, maps, and films.  What makes them archival is their significant and enduring administrative, legal, financial, or historical value.  The custody and care of these unique, largely unpublished records differentiates archives from libraries, which assemble published materials like books or journals.  The archives also collects some artifacts similar to a museum.

The Mount Allison University Archives is responsible for the administrative records created by the university and its predecessor institutions dating back to 1839 when Charles F. Allison formalized the creation of Mount Allison.  The Archives is also responsible for non-university records created by individuals, businesses or organizations that have helped to shape the Tantramar region in keeping with the acquisition mandate.


Archival Databases

You can search descriptions of the Archives' holdings and photographs from the Picture Collection and related fonds / collections by using our Descriptions Database.

The Chignecto Isthmus Database provides access to historical material on the people and places of the Tantramar region help by the Ralph Pickard Bell Library.

Questions? Ask the University Archivist.

David Mawhinney
Room 306
Ralph Pickard Bell Library
49 York Street
Sackville, NB E4L 1C6

Mount Allison University Libraries and Archives
49 York Street, Sackville NB, E4L 1C6 Canada
Hours | About the Libraries | Contact Us

Music Library | University Archives | Mount Allison University