Skip to main content
Mount Allison University Libraries | Music Library
Banner image link to Mount Allison UniveristyMount Allison University ArchivesImage Map

Winthrop Pickard Bell: Home

A virtual exhibition that pays tribute to an illustrious alumnus of Mount Allison University.

Welcome to this virtual exhibition which pays tribute to an illustrious alumnus of Mount Allison University.


Winthrop Pickard Bell, 1920

Mount Allison University Archives, Winthrop Pickard Bell fonds, 6501/17/2/1. May only be reproduced with the permission of the MtA Archives.

The Mount Allison University Archives is proud to maintain the fonds of Dr. Winthrop Pickard Bell, one of Nova Scotia's foremost scholars and historians. In addition to papers and correspondence related to his writings and research, the fonds includes photographs (predominately in negative format) that were created and compiled by Dr. Bell over his lifetime. This virtual exhibition is designed as a general guide for researchers interested in Dr. Bell's life and works.

A brief biography of Winthrop Pickard Bell is included with related information on selected members of the Bell family; his Education; his incarceration in the Ruhleben Internment Camp; Post-World War I activities; Teaching career; Business career; Mount Allison University involvements; and Service to historical organizations. This is complemented by a selected chronology of his life and a separate section on authorship which outlines his literary output and more specifically his two most notable works.

Fonds and series level archival descriptions are provided to outline the extent and coverage of the holdings within the fonds. For further finding aids, details about copyright, as well as information on terms and conditions of access to this fonds please contact the Mount Allison University Archives directly.

A portion of the bibliography is also provided which lists all of Winthrop Pickard Bell's published works that have been discovered to date. The photograph gallery includes some selected images created by Bell that demonstrate his ability as a photographer and visual chronicler of Nova Scotia and the world predominately between 1910 and 1950.

Documents and images have been selected to demonstrate the breadth of Dr. Bell's archival record. The Mount Allison University Archives hopes that this virtual exhibition will expand interest in the legacy of Winthrop Pickard Bell - man of the Maritimes, citizen of the world.