Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Mount Allison University Libraries | Music Library
Banner image link to Mount Allison UniveristyMount Allison University ArchivesImage Map

Winthrop Pickard Bell: Information

A virtual exhibition that pays tribute to an illustrious alumnus of Mount Allison University.

Acknowledgements


Archival work on the arrangement and description of the Winthrop Pickard Bell fonds conducted between 2003 and 2005, the preparation of fonds, series, and item level inventories for same, and the production of this virtual exhibition, has been entirely funded by a significant grant from the Marjorie Young Bell Endowment Fund Committee, Mount Allison University.

The Mount Allison University Archives is extremely grateful to the members of this committee for their generous support. Sincere appreciation is particularly extended to Dr. Heather Johnston, great-niece of Dr. Bell, who has been a valuable source of information on the Bell family and a constant supporter of archival projects and initiatives.

Gratitude is expressed to David Mawhinney, Winthrop Pickard Bell Archival Resident, and Jill Arsenault, Mount Allison University Webmaster, for their work on the content and design of this virtual exhibition.

The Mount Allison University Archives is very pleased that through this special project access to these private records has been greatly increased and the life and contributions of Dr. Bell may now be better understood and appreciated.

 

Cheryl Ennals

11 October 2005


The migration of the original virtual exhibition to the current platform was undertaken by Archival intern Renée Belliveau and student Marin McBeath in 2019. The revision and transfer of the content was made possible in part by the Government of New Brunswick (SEED program), the Government of Canada (Young Canada Works), the Marjorie Young Bell Endowment Fund, and the Mount Allison University Department of Canadian Studies.

During the migration process, some of the original content was reordered for clarity and additional information and photographs were added. The Mount Allison University Libraries and Archives hopes that this new website may reach new audiences and ensure the work and life of Winthrop Pickard Bell continues to be appreciated.

Mount Allison University would like to acknowledge, honour, and pay respect to the traditional owners and custodians (from all four directions), of the land on which we meet. It is upon ancestral lands of the Mi’kmaw and Wolastoquyik (Maliseet) peoples that Mount Allison University is built.

 

Renée Belliveau

15 October 2019

Copyright information


In keeping with the mission of the Mount Allison University Archives to acquire, preserve and make available the records in its holdings, the preparation of this virtual exhibition is intended to provide increased access to original documents. However, viewers are reminded that the photographs and images of documents used in this exhibition are provided for the purposes of research, private study, general interest and reference only.

Access to the photographs and images of these documents and the technical capacity to download them does not imply permission for re-use. Any use other than those cited above, including publication or re-distribution in any form, electronic and publishing/broadcasting on the Web, or use in an exhibition or display, requires written permission from the Mount Allison University Archives.

Materials made available in this online exhibition may also be subject to additional restrictions including, but not limited to, the rights of copyright and privacy. Users should be aware of their responsibility for determining the existence of such rights and acquiring all necessary permissions.

 

For information on this virtual exhibition and the archival documents featured in it please contact:

David Mawhinney, University Archivist

Mount Allison University Archives

Ralph Pickard Bell Library

49 York Street

Sackville New Brunswick
E4L 1C6

Canada

Telephone : (506) 364-2563

Fax : (506) 364-2617

Email: dmawhinney@mta.ca

Technical information


The objective of the Winthrop Pickard Bell Virtual Exhibition Project was to digitize and provide Web access to some of the original documents in the holdings of the Mount Allison University Archives which relate to his life and work. In this way the Archives hopes to draw attention to the value of archival material as both a research tool and a teaching tool.

Archival documents featured were selected from the Winthrop Pickard Bell fonds. The original exhibition included over 29 pages of text and 33 images, to which more were added during the migration process in 2019. 

The Project implementation was broken into the following processes:

*Research and Selection
*Scanning
*Topic identification, arrangement and text
*Metadata collection
*Web design and access

SCANNING

The scanning was carried out by the University Archivist David Mawhinney, and the Archival intern Renée Belliveau.

File Format : TIF and JPEG
Digital Resolution : 300 to 400 dpi

Images are stored on the Mount Allison University server and most of the images used in this virtual exhibition are also available on the Mount Allison Archives Descriptions Database. Every effort was made to respect the integrity of the original documents. Therefore, minimal action was taken to correct imperfections in the originals.

METADATA

Structural metadata has been gathered during the scanning process. The structural metadata files contain information about the pagination of the document and correlation between filename and identification (retrieval) numbers.

Descriptive metadata for fonds includes title / statement of responsibility, dates of creation, physical extent, biographical sketch, custodial history, scope and content, source of title, related materials, associated materials, finding aids, immediate source of acquisition, physical description, notes, and retrieval number.

Descriptive metadata for items includes retrieval number, title, date, restrictions on access, use and reproduction.

WEB DESIGN

Web design of the original virtual exhibition (2005) (hosted on Webmaster) was carried out by Jill Arsenault, Webmaster, Mount Allison University and David Mawhinney, Winthrop Pickard Bell Archival Resident. The migration of the original website to the LibGuide platform was carried out by Renée Belliveau, Archival Intern (2018-2019), with help from Marin McBeath.

The banner was created by Renée Belliveau from archival documents and images featured in the exhibition using Photo Editor Movavi 5.6.

EXHIBITION DATES

The Winthrop Pickard Bell Virtual Exhibition will be supported online through the Mount Allison Libraries and Archives LibGuide platform from October 2019 onward. 

Links


For additional information concerning Dr. Winthrop Bell researchers may also wish to contact the following archival institutions. This list is not complete but represents some of the other archives consulted for information about Dr. Bell's life and work.

Contact information


Mount Allison University Archives

Third floor, Ralph Pickard Bell Library

49 York Street Sackville, New Brunswick  E4L 1C6

Telephone: 506-364-2563

Fax: 506-364-2617

E-mail: archives@mta.ca

 

University Archivist: David Mawhinney - BA, MIST

 

Hours: The Mount Allison University Archives are open BY APPOINTMENT ONLY. To make an appointment, either e-mail archives@mta.ca or telephone the Archives (506-364-2563) and leave a voice message. Staff will then contact you to arrange for an appointment.