Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Mount Allison University Libraries | Music Library
Banner image link to Mount Allison UniveristyMount Allison University ArchivesImage Map

Winthrop Pickard Bell: Photo Gallery

A virtual exhibition that pays tribute to an illustrious alumnus of Mount Allison University.

Photo galleries


These galleries present images of Nova Scotia taken by Dr. Bell that were selected from the photograph albums in the Winthrop Pickard Bell fonds as well as images taken during his travels in Europe and sent to friends and family in the form of annual Christmas cards. 

These images represent a very small portion of the total collection since the majority of the items are currently in negative format. These negatives are in special storage due to their fragile condition and require special permission and extensive lead time for access. A searchable report describing the negatives in portable document format (.pdf) is available at the Mount Allison University Archives.

Nova Scotia


Camp near Little Harlow Lake, Nova Scotia, 17 November 1920.

Mount Allison University Archives, Winthrop Pickard Bell fonds, 6501/17/8/6 - p. 17  

May only be reproduced with the permission of Mount Allison University Archives.

Looking down at Deep Cove from the cliffs of Mt. Aspotogan, ca. September 1924.

Mount Allison University Archives, Winthrop Pickard Bell fonds, 6501/17/8/3 - p. 61 

May only be reproduced with the permission of Mount Allison University Archives.

Cove on Shelburne Harbour, Nova Scotia below "Barracks", 29 September 1938  

Mount Allison University Archives, Winthrop Pickard Bell fonds, 6501/17/8/3 - p. 2  

May only be reproduced with the permission of Mount Allison University Archives.‚Äč

Squid Cove looking toward Aspotogan, Nova Scotia, 30 December 1923

Mount Allison University Archives, Winthrop Pickard Bell fonds, 6501/17/8/3 - p. 63  

May only be reproduced with the permission of Mount Allison University Archives.

Modesty Cove - St. Margaret's Bay, Nova Scotia with Shut-In Island in the background, 17 September 1924

Mount Allison University Archives, Winthrop Pickard Bell fonds, 6501/17/8/3 - p. 47

May only be reproduced with the permission of Mount Allison University archives.

Steamer heading towards Digby Gap, Nova Scotia, ca. October 1932  

Mount Allison University Archives, Winthrop Pickard Bell fonds, 6501/7/8/3 - p. 69  

May only be reproduced with the permission of Mount Allison University Archives.

Mill near Petite Riviere, Nova Scotia with ox teams laden with grain for threshing, 2 September 1933

Mount Allison University Archives, Winthrop Pickard Bell fonds, 6501/17/8/6 - p. 75

May only be reproduced with the permission of Mount Allison University.

Hazel Bell at the Folly Mountain, Nova Scotia viaduct, 5 October 1930

Mount Allison University Archives, Winthrop Pickard Bell fonds, 6501/17/8/6 - p. 52

May only be reproduced with the permission of Mount Allison University Archives.

Upper end of Williams Lake near Halifax, Nova Scotia, September 1920

Mount Allison University Archives, Winthrop Pickard Bell fonds, 6501/17/8/6 - p. 24

May only be reproduced with the permission of Mount Allison University Archives.

Harbourfront at Lunenburg, Nova Scotia, 25 June 1926

Mount Allison University Archives, Winthrop Pickard Bell fonds, 6501/17/8/3 - p. 27

May only be reproduced with the permission of Mount Allison University Archives.

Little Hope Lighthouse, 19 July 1928

Mount Allison University Archives, Winthrop Pickard Bell fonds, 6501/17/8/3 - p. 32

May only be reproduced with the permission of Mount Allison University Archives.

Interior of Cedar Lake, Nova Scotia camp, 24 November 1920

Mount Allison University Archives, Winthrop Pickard Bell fonds, 6501/17/8/6 - p. 8

May only be reproduced with the permission of Mount Allison University Archives.

Mahone Bay, Nova Scotia from top of hill on the east side, 12 August 1930

Mount Allison University Archives, Winthrop Pickard Bell fonds, 6501/17/8/3 - p. 54

May only be reproduced with the permission of Mount Allison University Archives.

New Harbour, Nova Scotia with schooner seen between fish sheds, 4 October 1933

Mount Allison University Archives, Winthrop Pickard Bell fonds, 6501/17/8/3 - p. 13

May only be reproduced with the permission of the Mount Allison University Archives

New Harbour, Nova Scotia - between trees from rocks on the south side, 19 September 1924

Mount Allison University Archives, Winthrop Pickard Bell fonds, 6501/17/8/3 - p. 42

May only be reproduced with the permission of Mount Allison University Archives.

Boats entering Peggy's Cove, Nova Scotia, September 1924

Mount Allison University Archives, Winthrop Pickard Bell fonds, 6501/17/8/3 - p. 6

May only be reproduced with the permission of Mount Allison University Archives.

Looking south from mountain above road to Cap Rouge, Cape Breton, 6 October 1929

Mount Allison University Archives, Winthrop Pickard Bell fonds, 6501/17/8/3 - p. 71

May only be reproduced with the permission of Mount Allison University Archives.

Fishing boat off Port Mouton, Nova Scotia, 19 July 1928

Mount Allison University Archives, Winthrop Pickard Bell fonds, 6501/17/8/3 - p. 34

May only be reproduced with the permission of Mount Allison University Archives.

The pool in the rocks just outside New Harbour, Nova Scotia, 19 September 1924

Mount Allison University Archives, Winthrop Pickard Bell fonds, 6501/17/8/3 - p. 37

May only be reproduced with the permission of Mount Allison University Archives.

 

"Boulderwood" Cottage, near Halifax, Nova Scotia


Christmas card sent from Winthrop Pickard Bell to William Morley Tweedie featuring images of

"Boulderwood" Cottage, near Halifax, Nova Scotia, 1920

Mount Allison University Archives, Tweedie family fonds, 5201/3/1/2/9

May only be reproduced with the permission of Mount Allison University Archives.

View of "Boulderwood" Cottage, near Halifax, Nova Scotia, 1920

Taken from a Christmas card sent from Winthrop Pickard Bell to William Morley Tweedie.

Mount Allison University Archives, Tweedie family fonds, 5201/3/1/2/9

May only be reproduced with the permission of Mount Allison University Archives.

View of the Northwest Arm of the Halifax Harbour as seen from "Boulderwood" Cottage, 1920

Taken from a Christmas card sent from Winthrop Pickard Bell to William Morley Tweedie.

Mount Allison University Archives, Tweedie family fonds, 5201/3/1/2/9

May only be reproduced with the permission of Mount Allison University Archives.

View of the living room in "Boulderwood" Cottage, near Halifax, Nova Scotia, 1920

Taken from a Christmas card sent from Winthrop Pickard Bell to William Morley Tweedie.

Mount Allison University Archives, Tweedie family fonds, 5201/3/1/2/9

May only be reproduced with the permission of Mount Allison University Archives.

View of a lake near "Boulderwood" Cottage, Halifax, Nova Scotia, 1920

Taken from a Christmas card sent from Winthrop Pickard Bell to William Morley Tweedie.

Mount Allison University Archives, Tweedie family fonds, 5201/3/1/2/9

May only be reproduced with the permission of Mount Allison University Archives.

 

Europe


Sunset on Loch Linnhe, west coast of Scotland, ca. 1913

Taken from a Christmas card sent from Winthrop Pickard Bell to William Morley Tweedie.

Mount Allison University Archives, Tweedie family fonds, 5201/3/1/2/9

May only be reproduced with the permission of Mount Allison University Archives.

Old canal in Bruges, Belgium, ca. 1913

Taken from a Christmas card sent from Winthrop Pickard Bell to William Morley Tweedie.

Mount Allison University Archives, Tweedie family fonds, 5201/3/1/2/9

May only be reproduced with the permission of Mount Allison University Archives.

Dutch fisherman and his family, Volendam, Holland, ca. 1913

Taken from a Christmas card sent from Winthrop Pickard Bell to William Morley Tweedie.

Mount Allison University Archives, Tweedie family fonds, 5201/3/1/2/9

May only be reproduced with the permission of Mount Allison University Archives.

Christmas card sent to Winthrop Pickard Bell to William Morley Tweedie, 1913

Mount Allison University Archives, Tweedie family fonds, 5201/3/1/2/9

May only be reproduced with the permission of Mount Allison University Archives.