Skip to main content
Mount Allison University Libraries | Music Library
Banner image link to Mount Allison UniveristyMount Allison University ArchivesImage Map

University Archives: Archival resources

Information about how to conduct research at the Mount Allison University Archives

Archival holdings: a summary

In total, the Archives holds over half a kilometer of textual material; over 10,000 photographs; as well as slides, films, videotapes, audiotapes, microfilm, and artifacts. 
 

Institutional Records  

The Mount Allison University Archives acquires the inactive published and unpublished records of the University which are deemed to have long-term value.  Arranged by the administrative unit which created the records, materials include annual reports, policies and procedures, financial records, correspondence, research reports, architectural drawings and campus plans, meeting minutes, and other records that document the development and functioning of the University since its founding. Papers of the faculty and alumni are also acquired, as well as the records of student organizations. 
 

University Publications and Faculty Publications  

All official publications issued by the University are held by the Archives. These include the campus newspaper, yearbooks, calendars, The Record alumni magazine, and publications of the various offices and departments. Also collected are published materials by and about University faculty. 

 

Records Documenting the Local Community  

In view of the long history of Mount Allison within the local community, private papers of Tantramar region individuals, families, churches, clubs and businesses are an acquisition priority. 
 

Photographs  

More than 10,000 images taken by staff and private photographers document campus buildings and development; student life; instruction and research; faculty; staff; and alumni. Many of the records documenting the local area also include photographs. Virtually every photographic process is represented in the collection. Subject and surname access is provided for much of the collection through an index. 
 

Visual and Sound Records  

These materials relate to University people, places and activities. Formats held include motion picture films, videotapes, audiotapes, and phonograph recordings. 
 

Honours and Masters Theses  

All theses completed by Mount Allison's honours and Masters students are deposited in the Archives. In addition, some student research papers are held particularly where the topic relates to the University or the Tantramar region.

 

Artifacts  

While not an acquisition priority, many artifacts associated with the University and the local community are held by the Archives. 
 

Mount Allison General Information Collection (MAGIC)  

The Archives collects printed materials by and about various aspects of the University and the local area.  This category includes biographical files about alumni, staff, faculty and other individuals of local interest. 
 

Access  

Access to holdings is provided through the Archives' Descriptions Database, legacy card catalogue and finding aids not yet digitized and added to the Descriptions Database.  Some restrictions may apply.  For a complete discussion about how to search and use the descriptions database please click on Search the archives.  For useful link related to the Maritime Provinces and Canadian resources click on Links.

Archival Databases

You can search descriptions of the Archives' holdings and photographs from the Picture Collection and related fonds / collections by using our Descriptions Database.

The Chignecto Isthmus Database provides access to historical material on the people and places of the Tantramar region help by the Ralph Pickard Bell Library.

Questions? Ask the University Archivist.

David Mawhinney's picture
David Mawhinney
Contact:
Room 306
Ralph Pickard Bell Library
49 York Street
Sackville, NB E4L 1C6
506-364-2563