Location: Lansdowne St. across the current Athletic Centre
Materials: Wood
Opened: 1920
The College Rink was built in 1920 and was located on Lansdowne St. across from the current Athletic Centre. There had been several indoor skating rinks in Sackville prior to this point, which were frequently managed or rented by the Mount Allison community for recreational skating and winter sports. After the second Copp's rink was destroyed by fire in 1918, Mount Allison decided to build its own rink facility to replace it. Mount Allison’s enrolment rate had decreased significantly during the First World War, resulting in financial difficulties. The construction of the new rink was a way to invest in the institution’s post-war future and attract new students after the four-year dearth.
The College Rink was typical of indoor rinks of the era, with modest bare bench seating behind jagged boards and wooden trusses above the surface of the ice. It was used by students and community until it was replaced by the more sophisticated Allison Gardens in 1948.
Mount Allison University Archives. Hilda McNutt fonds, 2003.04/4/1. May only be reproduced with permission from the Mount Allison University Archives.
Mount Allison University Archives. Will Campbell collection, 8916/1/8. May only be reproduced with permission from the Mount Allison University Archives.
Mount Allison University Archives. Will Campbell collection, 8916/1/9. May only be reproduced with permission from the Mount Allison University Archives.
Mount Allison University Archives. Grover C. Beazley fonds, 8028/1/1. May only be reproduced with permission from the Mount Allison University Archives.
Mount Allison University Archives. Picture Collection. 2007.07/104. May only be reproduced with permission from the Mount Allison University Archives.