Architect: G. Ernest Fairweather
Location: present-day R.P. Bell Library
Style: Queen Anne Revival
Opened: 2 June 1891
Closed: Demolished April 1969
The Ladies' College buildings had originally included a passable suite of music rooms, but in 1888 it was proposed that a dedicated conservatory of music be added to the complex. Construction began in 1890 and the Conservatory of Music was officially opened on June 2, 1891. It was connected to the south-wing of the Ladies' College complex and housed thirty-five teaching and rehearsal rooms as well as an assembly room on the ground floor named Beethoven Hall.
A new Conservatory of Music was built in 1966 and the old one was demolished in April 1969, a few years before the rest of the Ladies' College complex was torn down in 1971.
Mount Allison University Archives. Picture Collection. 2007.07/588. May only be reproduced with permission from the Mount Allison University Archives.
Mount Allison University Archives. Picture Collection, 2007.07/633. May only be reproduced with permission from the Mount Allison University Archives.
Mount Allison University Archives. Picture Collection, 2007.07/638. May only be reproduced with permission from the Mount Allison University Archives.
Mount Allison University Archives. Picture Collection, 2007.07/639. May only be reproduced with permission from the Mount Allison University Archives.
Mount Allison University Archives. Picture Collection, 2007.07/657. May only be reproduced with permission from the Mount Allison University Archives.
Mount Allison University Archives. Picture Collection, 2007.07/664. May only be reproduced with permission from the Mount Allison University Archives.
Mount Allison University Archives. Picture Collection, 2007.07/670. May only be reproduced with permission from the Mount Allison University Archives.