Architect: Edmund Burke (1895), Gustavo Da Roza &Brown, Brisley & Brown (renovations 1972)
Style: Beaux Arts
Materials: Stone, brick, and light olive sandstone facade
Opened: 28 May 1895
The Owens Art Gallery officially opened on May 28, 1895. It was built to house the collection of the former Owens Art Institution, which had been established in Saint John, New Brunswick, in 1884. The transfer included the collection of 400 paintings, 100 plaster casts, and with it, artist and educator John Hammond.
This rather unique building was designed by esteemed Canadian architect Edmund Burke who incorporated features inspired by ancient Greek and Roman temples, making the gallery an excellent example of the Beaux-Arts style of architecture. Its exterior was made of light olive sandstone with lavish exterior details, including the intricate terra-cotta friezes that encircle three sides of the gallery, with leaves and cherubs framing the names of significant classical artists such as Rembrandt and Michelangelo.
Mount Allison University Archives. Raymond Clare Archibald fonds, 5501/9/2/4/8. May only be reproduced with permission of the Mount Allison University Archives.
Mount Allison University Archives. Picture collection, 2007.07/1157. May only be reproduced with permission of the Mount Allison University Archives.
Mount Allison University Archives. R. C. Archibald fonds, 5501/9/2/1/22. May only be reproduced with permission of the Mount Allison University Archives.
Mount Allison University Archives. R. C. Archibald fonds, 5501/9/2/1/23. May only be reproduced with permission of the Mount Allison University Archives.
Mount Allison University Archives. R. C. Archibald fonds, 5501/9/2/1/29. May only be reproduced with permission of the Mount Allison University Archives.
Mount Allison University Archives. R. C. Archibald fonds, 5501/9/2/1/44. May only be reproduced with permission of the Mount Allison University Archives.
Mount Allison University Archives. Picture Collection. 2007.07/2603. May only be reproduced with permission of the Mount Allison University Archives.
Mount Allison University Archives. Picture Collection. 2007.07/943. May only be reproduced with permission of the Mount Allison University Archives.
Mount Allison University Archives. Picture Collection. 2007.07/501. May only be reproduced with permission of the Mount Allison University Archives.
Mount Allison University Archives. Picture Collection 2007.07/533. May only be reproduced with permission of the Mount Allison University Archives.
Mount Allison University Archives Picture Collection 2007.07/563. May only be reproduced with permission of the Mount Allison University Archives.
The original main entryway facing York Street is recessed into an aedicule, an architectural detail consisting of a pediment supported by pillars. [1] This quintessentially Greco-Roman feature showcases the strong Classical inclinations of the Beaux-Arts style while hinting at the cultural foundations of the European artworks inside.
The original layout consisted of three connected atrium galleries and four smaller classrooms. Although the building has always served as a gallery space, it was originally designed to accommodate instruction space for the Mount Allison Ladies' College. The gallery atriums were lit from above by large skylights, providing ample natural light despite the relatively windowless exterior of the building. Upon entering any of these atriums, a visitor was bound to encounter classes of aspiring young artists learning by copying paintings or using sculptures as models.
The Art Gallery and its art school were associated with the Mount Allison Ladies' College until the fine arts program was established at the University in 1937. Instruction moved out of the Owens in 1965, and the building underwent renovations in 1972. A new expanded entryway was added at the rear of the building and atrium skylights were removed in order to add gallery space upstairs.
The Owens Art Gallery continues to play a vital role on campus and in the community. It is now the oldest university art gallery in Canada.