Architect: Edmund Burke
Size: four storeys tall
Style: [Collegiate Gothic with Second Empire elements]
Materials: Red and olive sandstone
Opened: 1910
Hart Hall was constructed in 1909 on the site of Lingley Hall and made possible by a bequest from Jairus Hart (1819-1906). It was designed by Edmund Burke as an addition to the Mount Allison Ladies' College and opened in March 1910. Made from red sandstone with olive trim, it stood in sharp contrast to the white wooden buildings of the Ladies' College. The beautiful new building contained residence rooms for female students and an apartment for the college principal, accompanied by some classrooms and a gymnasium. In 1920, Hart Hall was expanded to include additional offices, classrooms, an electrical workshop, art studios, and a small swimming pool in the basement.
In 1983-1984 the building underwent major renovations and was reopened in May 14, 1984 marking the 130th anniversary of the establishment of the Mount Allison Ladies' College. It is now used as office space for various academic departments.
Mount Allison University Archives. Picture Collection, 2007.07/831. May only be reproduced with permission from the Mount Allison University Archives.
Mount Allison University Archives. L. Gerard Johnson fonds, 8915/7. May only be reproduced with permission from the Mount Allison University Archives.
Mount Allison University Archives. Gwendolyn Black fonds, accession 8819/1. May only be reproduced with permission from the Mount Allison University Archives.
Mount Allison University Archives. Picture Collection. 2007.07/2520. May only be reproduced with permission from the Mount Allison University Archives.
Mount Allison University Archives. Auldes Bruce fonds, 2011.27/10. May only be reproduced with permission from the Mount Allison University Archives.
Mount Allison University Archives. Picture Collection. 2007.07/176. May only be reproduced with permission from the Mount Allison University Archives.