Architect: G. Ernest Fairweather of Saint John, NB
Size: 145 feet long, four storeys tall
Style: Second Empire
Materials: White wood exterior
Cornerstone laid: 5 June 1882
Opened: 4 January 1883
Closed: Destroyed by fire in March 1933
The third Academy building was larger than its predecessors, standing at four storeys tall and 145-feet long. Aside from classroom and accommodation, it also included a dining hall and a chapel in the basement from 1932-1933. It contained a hot water heating system and contemporary plumbing. A new commercial college was built next to the Academy in 1916 and they were completely joined on all floors in 1925. The building was destroyed by fire on March 1, 1933.
The Mount Allison Record published plans for a new Academy building in 1933, writing that
For a half a century, [the third Academy] has witnessed students come and go, has seen changes all around it-- and itself been changed. Twice war has called to its students and foreign lands have sacred soil where Allisonians lie. The halls and staircases were hollowed by the tread of boys who have gone out and become leaders in all walks of life. Many a name scrawled on cupboard walls and on the undersides of study tables are names prominent in work for King and Country. And now--no more. [1]
Mount Allison University Archives. Picture collection, 2007.07/266. May only be reproduced with permission from the Mount Allison University Archives.
Mount Allison University Archives. Picture Collection. 2007.07/274. May only be reproduced with permission from the Mount Allison University Archives.
Mount Allison University Archives. Picture Collection, 2007.07/275. May only be reproduced with permission from the Mount Allison University Archives.
Mount Allison University Archives. Picture Collection, 2007.07/276. May only be reproduced with permission from the Mount Allison University Archives.
Mount Allison University Archives. Picture Collection, 2007.07/278. May only be reproduced with permission from the Mount Allison University Archives.
Mount Allison University Archives. Picture Collection, 2007.07/279. May only be reproduced with permission from the Mount Allison University Archives.
Mount Allison University Archives. Picture Collection, 2007.07/280. May only be reproduced with permission from the Mount Allison University Archives.
Mount Allison University Archives. Picture collection, 2007.07/267. May only be reproduced with permission from the Mount Allison University Archives.
The Commercial College was completely joined to Academy building on all floors in 1925, as seen in this photograph.
Mount Allison University Archives. Picture Collection. 2007.07/269. May only be reproduced with permission from the Mount Allison University Archives.