Architect: C. A. Fowler & Company
Location: York Street
Style: Tudor Gothic with Art Deco elements
Materials: Red and olive sandstone
Cornerstone laid: 22 May 1945
Opened: 18 September 1946
Closed: Closed in 2005 and remodelled as Wallace McCain Student Centre in 2008
Trueman House was built to replace the Second University Men's Residence that was destroyed by fire on December 16, 1941. Wartime restrictions delayed the start of construction until 1944, and it was officially opened in September 1946. It was named in honour of Mount Allison University President George J. Trueman, who had led the university from 1923 to 1945.
A wing was added at the rear of the building in 1946. It was named Tweedie Hall for professor William Morley Tweedie, who had taught at the university for fifty years until his retirement in 1937, and his cousin the Hon. Thomas Mitchell Tweedie. It is the site of Alex Colville's mural "The History of Mount Allison" which was completed in 1948.
Trueman House became a co-ed residence in 1995 and remained so until 2006. After undergoing extensive renovations, the building re-opened as the Wallace McCain Student Centre in 2008.
Mount Allison University Archives. Picture Collection, 2007.07/174. May only be reproduced with permission from the Mount Allison University Archives.
Mount Allison University Archives. Picture Collection. 2007.07/350. May only be reproduced with permission from the Mount Allison University Archives.
Mount Allison University Archives. Picture Collection, 2007.07/345. May only be reproduced with permission from the Mount Allison University Archives.
Mount Allison University Archives. Picture Collection, 2007.07/347. May only be reproduced with permission from the Mount Allison University Archives.
Mount Allison University Archives. Picture Collection, 2007.07/366. May only be reproduced with permission from the Mount Allison University Archives.