Architect: Andrew Cobb, Alward & Gillies (Saint John, NB), and Combe & Ryan (Montreal, QC)
Size: Three storeys tall with central section 125 feet long and two 45 feet ells
Style: Collegiate Gothic with Tudor Gothic influence
Materials: Interior steel frame structure and concrete floor system with exterior red and olive sandstone and slate roof
Opened: October 1931
Construction of a new science building began in the summer of 1930 in response to overcrowding in the Old Science Building, which had become inadequate for the needs of a growing university population.
Mount Allison enlisted architect Andrew R. Cobb, who had designed the 1927 Memorial Library, and two additional architectural firms: Alward & Gillies of Saint John, and Combe and Ryan of Montreal. Collaboration was necessary to address the high degree of specialization required in designing a building that would house the chemistry and biology departments. It included gas vents and acid-proof pipes within a steel-framed structure. [1]
The building was erected on the site of the president’s garden, forming an academic quad with the Memorial Library, Centennial Hall, and the old science building. It was dedicated on October 21, 1931, as the New Science Building. Like the Memorial Library, its exterior has all the hallmarks of the then popular Collegiate Gothic style of architecture in red sandstone and olive trim.
After the Chemistry Building was constructed in 1966, it became known as the Biology Building. In May 9, 1970, the building was renamed after former University President Rev. W. T. Ross Flemington.
Mount Allison University Archives. Arthur Motyer fonds, 2020.29/2. May only be reproduced with permission from the Mount Allison University Archives.
Mount Allison University Archives. Picture Collection, 2007.07/785. May only be reproduced with permission from the Mount Allison University Archives.
Mount Allison University Archives. Picture Collection, 2007.07/784. May only be reproduced with permission from the Mount Allison University Archives.
Mount Allison University Archives. Picture Collection, 2007.07/787. May only be reproduced with permission from the Mount Allison University Archives.
Mount Allison University Archives. Picture Collection, 2007.07/792. May only be reproduced with permission from the Mount Allison University Archives.
Mount Allison University Archives. Picture Collection, 2007.07/799. May only be reproduced with permission from the Mount Allison University Archives.