Location: present-day Hart Hall
Style: Classical (Tetrastyle in antis)
Opened: 31 January 1855
Lingley Hall was built in 1854 on the site of the present Hart Hall. It was dedicated on January 31, 1855, and was named after Bartlett Lingley, who had made a donation towards its construction. It served as a lecture and music hall and library.
While Owens Art Gallery was being built 1893, there was a shortage of space for the new art school; the seats were removed from Lingley Hall, art works were hung, and the building renamed Victoria Hall. When the Owens Art Gallery was completed, Lingley Hall returned to its former use and name.
In 1910 it was moved south-east on the hill to make room for the construction of Hart Hall. It was slated for sale or destruction, but in 1912 it was moved to the north end of the football field where it was enlarged and made into a gymnasium. It burned down on 31 January 1921.
Mount Allison University Archives. Picture Collection, 2007.07/840. May only be reproduced with permission from the Mount Allison University Archives.
Mount Allison University Archives. Picture collection, 2007.07/1205. May only be reproduced with permission from the Mount Allison University Archives.
Mount Allison University Archives. Picture Collection, 2007.07/838. May only be reproduced with permission from the Mount Allison University Archives.
Mount Allison University Archives. Picture Collection, 2007.07/1303. May only be reproduced with permission from the Mount Allison University Archives.
Mount Allison University Archives. Picture collection, 2007.07/1159. May only be reproduced with permission from the Mount Allison University Archives.
Mount Allison University Archives. Metzler family fonds, 2010.29/1. May only be reproduced with permission from the Mount Allison University Archives.
Mount Allison University Archives. Metzler family fonds, 2010.29/2. May only be reproduced with permission from the Mount Allison University Archives.