Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Mount Allison University Libraries | Music Library
Banner image link to Mount Allison UniveristyMount Allison University ArchivesImage Map

History of Acadians at Mount Allison: Archival Resources

A virtual exhibit on the history of Acadians at Mount Allison University and in Sackville, New Brunswick..

Banner: The History of Acadians at Mount Allison

Archival Resources


The following list contains descriptive entries for records within our archival holdings that deal with Acadian history and culture. For more detailed descriptions of the Archives' holdings or to undertake more focused research, visit our Descriptions Database. To identify other materials of interest, please contact the University Archivist.


Aurore Bourque fonds

Fonds consists of an Allisonian yearbook, an encapsulated Moncton Transcript obituary for her mother, Théosène (Saulnier) Bourque, along with images of Aurore at an audience with Pope Pius XII as well as at a reunion with members of her 1928 graduating class from Aberdeen High School in Moncton, New Brunswick, which included noted literary critic and scholar, Northrup Frye.

Aurore Eugenie Bourque was born on 26 October 1908 in Leger’s Corner, Westmorland County, New Brunswick. She was the daughter of Joseph Vital E. Bourque (1876-1952) and Théosene Saulnier (1879-1975). She graduated from Aberdeen High School in 1928 and attended the Mount Allison Maritime Summer School in 1929, earning a Bachelor of Arts with an Honours certificate in French from the university in 1932. While in attendance, she was Vice-President and secretary of the French Club (Le Cercle Francais). She subsequently acquired a teaching appointment at Moncton High School and taught there from 1940 until retirement in 1968. She was an avid traveler and a benefactor of the Canadian Federation of University Women in Moncton as well as Mount Allison University. She died in Shediac, New Brunswick on 15 July 2002 and is buried the St. Anselme Parish Cemetery in Dieppe, New Brunswick


Bell-Brown family fonds

Fonds contains a map of the Tantramar region and Chignecto Isthmus entitled “L’isthme de l’Acadie.”

2017.44/5  L’isthme de l’Acadie. Baye du Beaubassin en Anglois Shegnekto. Environs du Fort Beausejour. A Paris chez le Rouge rue des Augustins (levee en juin 1755). – n.d. – 1 map of cartographic records : 31.5 x 45.5 cm (sight)

Michael Richard Bell was born on 27 January 1939 in Montreal, Quebec, the son of Harry Heartz and Elizabeth Charlotte (Brown) Bell. He was educated in Montreal and attended Queen’s University in Kingston, Ontario where he completed his BComm. Thereafter, he entered the Canadian Foreign Service serving the following postings: Norway and Iceland (1962-1966), London and Gibraltar (1966-1969), Peru and Bolivia (1969-1971), Spain (1971-1975), Ottawa – Treasury Board analyst (1975-1979), Union of Soviet Socialist Republics (USSR) and Mongolia (1979-1981), Peru (1981-1985), Ottawa – External Affairs (1985-1990), Union of Soviet Socialist Republics (USSR) / Russia and many of the newly independent states (1990-1992), Netherlands (1992-1996). In his life after diplomacy he has been involved with Justice Solutions (a training company for Balkan country workers), serving on the Board of Directors of ING Direct, and as a member of the Carleton Investment Club. He was married to Christine McCook in London, England on 22 February 1969 and has two children: Kate and Hugh.


Brian Lloyd French fonds

Fonds consists of a copy of a report on where the author believes the “Pont a Buot” was located over the Missiguash River in the mid-18th century. This river currently divides New Brunswick and Nova Scotia.

2013.1 Brian Lloyd French -- March 2013 -- 6 leaves of textual records.

Brian Lloyd French was raised in Sackville, New Brunswick and graduated from Tantramar Regional High School. He is a 1976 graduate of the University of New Brunswick where he studied Canadian history with Phil Buckler, Bernie Vigod, and Ken Windsor. He is a political commentator and consultant and he formerly worked as a columnist with the Toronto Sun newspaper. He is the author of Mojito (2011), a novel about contemporary Cuba, and Tintamarre! The Terror and Triumph of an Acadian Family (2013), which follows an Acadian family from 1749 to 1756.


Christan Nicholson fonds

Fonds contains notes, photographs, and artifacts relating to Christan Nicholson’s painting of the official portrait of the Honorable Roméo LeBlanc.

2007.26/7/6 The Honorable Romeo LeBlanc portrait unveiling – 2003 [subseries]. 4 leaves of textual records, 1 artifact.

Subseries contains napkins and a day of issue Canada Post first day cover, kept by Christian Nicholson from the unveiling ceremony of the official portrait of the Honorable Romeo LeBlanc. File also includes a note written by Nicholson in which he describes his experience painting the portrait and meeting the former Governor General. Also includes the sweater that LeBlanc wore in the painting. This sweater belonged to Nicholson but he lent it to LeBlanc to be worn for the painting.

2007.26/7/8 Miscellaneous items -- [199-?]-[bef. 2008]

Subseries contains other records pertaining to Nicholson’s established art career such as notes on the Romeo LeBlanc portrait and lists of people.

2007.40/1/5/2 1/5/2 Roméo LeBlanc. – 2003. – 39 photographs : col. slides ; 5 x 5 cm
Items are photographs of Governor General Roméo LeBlanc from which Nicholson created a 3 portraits and 2 drawings.

2007.40/2/5/3 Roméo LeBlanc. – 2002. – 3 photographs : col. ; 20 x 25.5 cm
Items are a photograph of Roméo LeBlanc, taken by Christan Nicholson prior to painting his portrait, a photograph of Nicholson and friend Blake Proudfoot with the final portrait, and a photograph of a drawing of LeBlanc.


Eileen Smith fonds

Fonds contains a self-published autobiography that documents life on a small mixed farm, responsibilities of the children, religion, English and Acadian relations in the Port Elgin school in the late 1940s.

2014.20/11 Autobiographical work entitled “A certain way of life”. – November 2003. – 1 volume, 1 leaf of textual records. – 5 photographs, 2 copy prints : b&w, col. ; 12.5 x 17.5 cm or smaller

Mabel Eileen Smith was born 22 September 1938 near Port Elgin, New Brunswick, the daughter of Roland Hill Flemming (1896-1951) and Flora May (Sainsbury) Flemming (1902-1996). She attended public schools in Port Elgin and took her first job working for the Royal Bank of Canada in Sackville, New Brunswick. She married Mitchell James Smith on 12 October 1957 and they had three children: Linda, David and Bill. She stopped working to raise her family but returned to work in 1970 at the Ralph Pickard Bell Library at Mount Allison University. While working at the university she completed her BA degree on a part-time basis graduating in 1988. She was in charge of the Circulation Department until her retirement in 1999.


Eldon Hay fonds

Fonds contains a number of articles written by Eldon Hay and published in local newspapers between 1999 and 2003 on the subject of Acadians and their linguistic rights in New Brunswick.

2006.31/MTA171/C/5b (xii) Eldon Hay, "Celebrate l'Acadie success," Times & Transcript (Moncton, NB), 8 September 1999, D8.

2006.31/MTA171/C/128a Eldon Hay, "Address concerns of Acadians," Times & Transcript (Moncton, NB), 28 December 2001, D8.

2006.31/MTA171/C/140 Eldon Hay, "Acadian health care essential," Times & Transcript (Moncton, NB), 25 March 2002, D8; in response to James Foster, “Acadians to fight for full-service Dumont,” Times & Transcript (Moncton, NB), 22 March 2002, 1, 9 (included).

2006.31/MTA171/C/180 Eldon Hay, "Residents Should Celebrate Bilingualism," Sackville Tribune-Post, 14 August 2002, 6.

2006.31/MTA171/C/309a Eldon Hay, “Recognition for wrongs done to Acadians applauded,” New Brunswick Telegraph-Journal (Saint John, NB), 8 December 2003, A7.

2014.19/MTA171/66 Acadian advocacy (a memoir). – 30 May 2014. – 5 leaves of textual records

 

Eldon Roy Hay was born on 15 December 1931 at Marvelville, Ontario, the second son of the three children of George and Anna (Carscadden) Hay. He received his early education at local schools and then attended Carleton University from which he graduated with a BA in 1954. He then received an MA and BD from Queen’s University in 1957. That same year in Montreal Hay was ordained a minister of the United Church of Canada. He then pursued post-graduate studies in Glasgow, Scotland and Basel, Switzerland, and was awarded a PhD degree in theology from Glasgow University in 1960. He became part-time chaplain and a member of the Department of Religious Studies at Mount Allison University in 1962. He was head of the Department between 1989 and 1994 and served on numerous academic committees until his retirement in 1997. Hay was a human rights advocate, promoting respect for gay, lesbian and bisexual persons and their families. He also wrote a number of articles on Acadians in New Brunswick.


European and North American Railway (E&NA)

Item consists of a pay sheet for men who worked on the European and North American Railway, Shediac and Moncton District, during the month of May 1858. The list includes a number of Acadian names.

0109/1 European and North American Railway (E&NA) pay list -- 31 May 1858 -- 1 item of textual records, 34 x 41.5 cm.

The European and North American Railway was a rail line built from Moncton to Shediac, NB in 1857, and from Moncton to Saint John in 1860. The first section of the E&NA opened between Shediac and Moncton on August 20, 1857, a distance of 16.8 miles. Although the Shediac-Moncton section was the first part opened, the line was soon extended 2 miles east to the better wharf facilities at Point du Chene. Branch lines were built from Painsec to Sackville in 1860 and from Fairville to Vanceboro in 1869. This last line became the St. John & Maine Railway; it was leased to the New Brunswick Railway in 1883 and to the CPR in 1890, but the rest of the E & NA was absorbed by the Intercolonial in 1872.

Sheet lists the names of sthe men, the total days worked in May 1858, the rate per day and the amount owed. The men then signed to indicate they had received their money. The majority signed their names with an X. Except where indicated, the men were labourers. Most of the Acadian names are incorrectly spelled, including LeBlanc, Melanson, Gauvin, and Surette.

Names of workers: Vital White; Bliss Thibideau; Daniel Halfpenny, foreman; Martin Thibideau; Chris White; Docity Thibideau; Maximime Thibideau; John Malingson; Simon Malingson; Domiang Suratt; James Shanahan; Mark LeBlang; Demiang Govang; Venant Govang; John Crew, carpenter; Benjamin Crew, carpenter; Peter Bourgois; Eustash LeBlang; Amos LeBlang; Alfred Stults; Vital LeBlong; Thomas Doherty; Thomas Low; Michael Kelly, carpenter; Dennis Sullivan; Jeams Boyd; John England, foreman; Finely McDonald; Philip Legere. Pay clerk was William Stevens


Father Jean Bousquet fonds

Fonds contains published articles written by Père Jean Bousquet on the topics of l’Acadie and Acadian French.

7662.2/30 Une récente production de l’O.N.F. sur l’Acadie. – 9 January 1972. – 1 leaf of textual records.

7662.3/1 L’opinion du lecteur: les Acadiens parlent bien le français. – n.d. – 1 leaf of textual records.

7662.3/7 Le parler acadien. – SEM, January / February 1975. – [photocopied 197-?]. – Montreal : Les Publications Sem Inc., 1975. – 6 leaves of textual records.

Rolland Bousquet was born at Saint-Dominique de Bagot, Quebec on 2 April 1910 the son of Napoléon and Arthémoise (Paquette) Bousquet. He was raised on the family farm and studied under the direction of the Sisters of Saint Joseph. He left his home to commence further studies at the seminary at St-Hyacinthe, Quebec in 1923. He completed his Bachelor of Arts in Classical Studies in 1931 through the Université de Montréal. He was ordained as a priest in Ottawa on August 2, 1936 by Mgr. Guillaume Forbes. Beginning in 1961 he served as a lecturer in French in the Romance Languages Department at Mount Allison University. In 1967 he was appointed assistant professor of French and continued in that role until 1975. During the 1975-76 academic year he served as a visiting assistant professor of French. Upon his retirement in July 1976 he was appointed Professor Emeritus of French. He died suddenly in Sackville on 1 November 1976 and was buried in the cemetery at the Dominican Convent in St-Hyacinthe, Quebec. In 1977 the Dominican Monastery at 57 Charlotte Street in Sackville was purchased by Mount Allison University and re-named “Le Pavillon Bousquet” in honour of the former faculty member. It was initially used as a university residence for language students and subsequently as a general student residence.


George J. Trueman fonds

Fonds includes a file of correspondence, notices and minutes of meetings for both general and executive meetings and a document entitled “Course of instruction for Acadian schools."

7837/1/A/2/364 External organizations / bodies - Common Examining Board of the Maritime Provinces and Newfoundland -- August-December 1930 -- 1 folder of textual records.


J. Clarence Webster collection

Fonds contains a number of primary and secondary source documents on the early history of Acadians in Chignecto and its surroundings, including eighteenth century maps of Beaubassin, nineteenth-century land grants of Shediac, letters detailing the profile of prominent Acadian individuals in the region, and printed articles on Acadia.

Files and items of potential interests include:

 

– 1926-1945. File contains magazine articles and newspaper clippings relating to the Chignecto region and its early Acadian inhabitants.

1. Chignecto---the scene of conflicts. Final instalment / Mrs. W. H. Prescott [Emma Isobel Glenie or Glennie]. The Busy East. – [193-?] – 4 leaves of textual records
Note: Item includes an image of the author.

2. “The ‘island’ on the marshes”: some bits of history of the stories Isthmus of Chignecto, which are not generally known—a land rich in romance. / Will R. Bird. The Busy East. – [193-?] – 1 leaf of textual records.
Note: Articles discusses early Acadian settlements in the Isthmus region of Chignecto, including early baptisms.
A photocopied version of this article is also located in the file.

3. Newspaper clipping of an article with the headline “A dream of Lordship by Pierre Thibaudeau, Poitou, simple countryman, off the farm: The story of little settlements at the extreme end of the Bay of Fundy is an epitome of the history of Acadia---pathos pervades narrative of French Dominion.” / S. P. Griffin. The Saint John Globe. – 29 May 1926. – 15 affixed leaves of textual records.
Note: A photocopied version of this article is also located in the file.

4. Pamphlet entitled “Memories of Chignecto,” compliments of the Amherst Board of Trade. – 18 August 1931. – 1 folded leaf of textual records and graphic materials
Note: A photocopied version of this article is also located in the file.

-- 1922-1941 -- 32 leaves of textual records & 1 mounted composite photograph : sepia ; 21.5 x 18 on mounting 23.5 x 20 cm.

File contains clippings and articles and other documentation relating to Acadians, including censuses of the early Acadian settlements of Beauséjour, Gaspereau, and Baie Verte, an image of the Acadian delegates present at the Quebec Convention of 1880, and a letter that documents the life of Amand Landry, the first Acadian to sit in Parliament, as well as a dispute that arose in the early 1880s between the Anglophone residents of the Parish of Sackville and the francophone residents of the Parish of Dorchester.

1. Letter from J. Thomas LeBlanc (Moncton, New Brunswick working for L’Evangeline Limitée) to Dr. J. C. Webster (Shediac, New Brunswick) with enclosed documents. – 20 November 1941. – 23 leaves of textual records.

Note:     Item consists of a 3 page letter and two typescript copies of documents found amongst Placide Gaudet’s papers, including “Dénombrement des habitants des trois riviere dépendantes du commandement de Beauséjour dans laccadie [l’Acadie] françoise village pas village (au printemps de 1755)” and “Dénombrement des habitans de Gaparaux, la Bay verte et le Portage Ste Marguerite.” The contents of the items document the Acadian inhabitants of the region in great detail and briefly discusses early Acadian priests.

2. Handwritten note to Regis [Brun?] concerning the residences of Capt. Weeks (Baie Verte), Philip Palmer (Middle Sackville) and the Morice brothers (Middle Sackville). – n.d. – 1 leaf of textual records

3. Letter from J. Theodore Vautour (Richibucto, New Brunswick working for The Globe Indemnity Company of Canada) to F.J. Robidoux (Shediac, New Brunswick) with enclosed image of the Acadian delegates to the Quebec Convention of 1880. – 25 February 1938. – 2 leaves of textual records. – 1 mounted composite photograph : sepia ; 22 x 18 on mounting 20 x 23.5 cm

Note:      Item depicts the Acadian delegation in attendance at the convention of the Société Saint-Jean-Baptiste held in Québec City 1880. The delegation was led by the Hon. Pierre-Amand Landry, first Acadian lawyer and judge, and included Valentin Landry, Pascal Poirier, Joseph-Octave Arsenault and Ferdinand Robidoux amongst its members. The delegation chose not to join the ranks of the Société Saint-Jean Baptiste. In 1881, they organized the first Acadian national convention in Memramcook, New Brunswick. It was during this event that the date of August 15, also known as Assumption Day, Catholic celebration of the Virgin Mary, patron saint of the Acadians, was adopted to celebrate National Acadian Day.
The verso of the photograph is inscribed “From Elizabeth Vautour widow of John C. Vautour, Richibucto, N.B.” It includes a list of the names of the unnamed cameo photographs in the bottom row of the image.

4. Letter from N. A. Landry (Bathurst, New Brunswick) to Dr. Webster (Shediac, New Brunswick). – 1 February 1937. – 4 leaves of textual records.

Note:     Item documents the life of N. A. Landry’s late father, Amand Landry, the first Acadian to sit in Parliament. It also documents a dispute that arose in the early 1880s between the Anglophone residents of the Parish of Sackville and the francophone residents of the Parish of Dorchester.
Item is partially written in French.

5. Clipping taken from The Busy East with article entitled “French and English pioneer days in Acadia” / Dr. J. Clarence Webster. – January 1922. – 2 leaves of textual records and graphic materials.

--

File contains the following items relating to Acadian history:

Handwritten letter from Dr. A. R. Landry (Moncton, New Brunswick) to Dr. Webster detailing the biography of his father, Pierre Landry. – 30 January 1937. – 3 leaves of textual records.

Typescript copy of the last speech of Senator Pascal Poirier, entitled “Honorable Members.” – [n.d.] – 21 leaves of textual records.

-- 7 October 17 -- 1 folded leaf leaves of textual ; 30 x 37.5 cm folded to 30 x 19 cm.

Item contains an assessment compiled for finished the court house and jail for citizens of Memramcook, Westmorland County, New Brunswick. The item references the following individuals using the order and spelling that originally appeared in the document: Benjamin Allan, John Keillor, John Wheldon, William Taylor, Petter Sonea, Petter White, Petter Cumo, Simon White, Joseph Bro, Charles Sonea, Charles White, Petter White, Joseph Reshaw, Michael Boork, Victore Leblong, Joseph Depey, John Landery, Joseph White, Nero Landery, Benjamin Busway, Petter Reshaw, Nero Reshaw, Oliver Budrow, Paul Babino, Basil Reshaw, Joseph Lejare, Joseph Reshaw, Michael Reshaw, John Reshaw, Jack Lejare, Petter Lejare, John Reshaw, Petter Reshaw, John Gooday, John A Pet, Dan Jock, Petter Gooday, Bona Leblong, Joseph Leblong, Battiot Gooday, Charles White, Petter Bilevow, Joseph Jerway, Michael Bastrash, Ledore Bastrash, Joseph Landry, Petter Case and Joseph Case.

The more common spelling of the Acadian surnames in this document could include in alphabetical order: Babineau, Bastarache, Belliveau, Boudreault, Bourque, Breault, Caissie, Comeau, Gaudet, Gerroir, Leblanc, Legere, Richard and Saulnier.

– 6 July 1942. – 1 leaf of textual records and graphic materials.

The brothers, TPR. Alex Boudreau, PTE. Meddie Boudreau, PTE. Frederick Boudreau, and GNR. Laurie Boudreau, were the sons of Abel Boudreau and Emilie Landry, residents of Sackville. Two of the sons were employed by the Enamel and Heating Products Limited factory while another was engaged at The Imperial Theatre in Sackville.

--

File contains newspaper clippings and a letter relating to the late Hon. Pascal Poirier.

Clipping of article entitled “Senator Poirier.” – [1933] – 1 leaf of textual records.

Clipping taken from Chronique d’Ottawa with article entitled “La dispersion des Acadiens.” / JAF. – [n.d.] – 1 leaf of textual records.

-- 1752-1784, [bef. 1970]. 5 leaves of cartographic, technical drawings and textual records : paper ; 35 x 46 cm or smaller; 1 leaf of cartographic and textual records : linen ; 47.5 x 33 cm ; 2 blueprints ; 48.5 x 68.5 cm or smaller.

File contains a series of reproductions of maps, plans and technical drawings that relate to the Chignecto region.

  1. Plan of Fort Beausejour and environs from “Memoirs sur le Canada” by S___ de C ___ (Historical documents no. 2 – Quebec Lit. & Hist. Soc.), 1838. – [reproduced bef. 1970]. – 1 leaf of cartographic records ; 25.5 x 20 cm

  2. Item appears to be a copy that was supplied by the map division of the Public Records Office of Canada. It features the following locations and built heritage: Ouescock, Fort Lawrence, Isle la Valliere, Aboiteau de L’Abbe Le Loutre, Butte a Roger, Petit Coteau, Pont a Buot, Riviere des Gaspereaux, Portage, Baie Verte, Marecage Sources and Fort Gaspereaux.



  3.  
  4. Reproduction of a plan of Chignectou include the pass of Pont Buot and the encampment before the fort of Beausejour (received with Mr. Engineer Brewses letter dated Halifax 18 Oct. 1755) with affixed index. – [reproduced bef. 1970]. – 2 affixed leaves of cartographic materials ; 30 x 40 cm folded to 30 x 20 cm

  5. Item depicts Forts Cumberland and Lawrence and the surrounding marsh and uplands. It includes travel routes and the placement of the Scott and Winslow Battalions. The affixed index is written in French.



  6.  
  7. Reproduction of “The forts of Chignecto - a plan of Fort Beausejour in 1752” (original in Paris – copy in Public Archvies, Ottawa). – [reproduced bef. 1970]. – 1 leaf of technical drawings and textual records ; 28 x 31 cm

  8. Item includes three figures and corresponding descriptions and indexes.



  9.  
  10. Reproductions of a plan of the Fort at Cumberland with related references (H4/250), 1784. – [reproduced bef. 1970]. – 1 leaf of technical drawings and textual records ; 35 x 46 cm folded to 35 x 23 cm. – 1 blueprint of technical drawings and textual records ; 48.5 x 68.5 cm folded to 34.5 x 34.5 cm

  11. Note: The verso in ink “Fort Beasejour Bast.L – Year 1755.”



  12.  
  13. Reproductions of a plan of the east coast line of Chignecto Bay and Cumberland Basin (Bay of Funday [sic]. Nova Scotia. Coast). – [bef. 1970]. – 1 leaf of cartographic records on linen ; 47.5 x 33 cm folded to 33 x 24 cm. – 1 blueprint of cartographic records ; 47 x 32.5 cm folded to 32.5 x 24 cm

-- 1922-1937 –

File contains clippings and articles relating to the Chignecto region of New Brunswick, including the following relating to Acadian history:

Fort Beausejour Drama / produced by Rupert Lucas, April 8, 1939, for the official opening of CBA Maritimes, Sackville, NB, 1939

Arbre Genealogique de M. l’abbé Joseph Noé Bourgeois Dressé par Placide Gaudet, Généalogiste. (5th-8th generations). Typescript, 6 p.

The Heroine of Acadia / James Hannay [1910]

Report of the Tour to Petcondiack [Petitcodiac] River, Saturday the 11 of Nov. 1758 by George Scott, Commander of L. I. & Rangers, Fort Frederick, 19 November 1758; and letters to Gov. Pownell from Fort Frederick, St. Johns [Saint John], Oct. 17, Nov. 15, 20, 1758.

Extraits des manuscrits de Pichon, 1753-1754. Typescript, 19 leaves

M. Placide Gaudet M.A. Typescript, 4 p. (in French)

-- 1819-1937 -- 89 leaves of textual records.

File contains clippings and articles relating to the Chignecto region of New Brunswick, with some relating to prominent Acadian figures, including Placide Gaudet and Amand Landry.

1. Clipping with the headline “Old Fort Beausejour ruins are being reclaimed as park site” taken from an unidentified newspaper. – n.d. – 1 leaf of textual records

4. Clipping with the headline “The history of modern Acadia, founding of St. Joseph’s College a dynamic event” reprinted from The Ave Maria taken from an unidentified newspaper. -- n.d. – 1 leaf of textual records

6. Typescripts of “Renseignements sur le fondeur de la cloche de L’Abbe Le Loutre, Beausejour” (in French); and notes (in English) re: the career of Mr. Gros and la fonderie de Rochefort). – [19--?]. – 2 leaves of textual records

12. Clippings documenting the death of noted Acadian historian Mr. Placide Gaudet. – 1930. – 6 leaves of textual records
Mr. Gaudet of Shediac, New Brunswick was in his 80th years and had been in the Department of Archives at Ottawa for 25 years. He was also a noted archivist and genealogist.

13. Clippings entitled “Amand Landry: le premier depute acadien au Nouveau-Brunswick / by Placide Gaudet taken from Les-Annales, Lettres, Histoire, Sciences, Arts, 2ieme année, no. 11, Novembre 1923, and Acadian, Vol. LII, No. 22. – [bef. 1930]. – 3 leaves of textual records

14. Typescript of “Anecdote sur la famille Landry: au premier temps de la colonisation. – [reproduced 19--?]. – 2 leaves of textual records

22. Clipping with headline “Some ancient history of Albert and Westmorland – valuable old wall map in possession of Mr. George Leger well known druggist of Shediac” taken from an unidentified newspaper. – n.d. – 1 leaf of textual records

24. Clipping with the headline “The early history of Sackville” by Louise Dixon taken from the The Daily Times. – 26 December 1925. – 1 leaf of textual records

25. Correspondence between Dr. J. C. Webster and Mary V. Morris of Minudie, Nova Scotia regarding the Morris family and Captain Bourgeois, 1819-1937. – March and April 1937. – 8 leaves of textual records.
Item includes a genealogy of John Thomas and a transcription of an article from the Amherst Gazette dated 8 June 1866 discussing a document dated 13 January 1819 about the founding of the Cumberland County Agricultural Society with a list of subscribers.

31. Utopias of the New World / F. R. Sayer (Publicity Department – Canadian National Railways – Moncton, New Brunswick). – 19??. -- ? leaves of textual records
Item is believed to be an historical promotional item that documents communities in the Maritimes including Minudie, Nova Scotia. The item reference Indigenous names and meanings and information about Acadian settlement and the Seaman family.

– [192-?]-1929. --

Typescript copy of Beaubassin ou Chignitou et La Baye Verte [Baie Verte] (from De Meulles’ report). Memoires Generaux 1686, Archives Publiques du Canada. – [n.d.] -- 6 leaves of textual records.

Typescript copy of “The Pioneers of Westmorland” Part of a lecture given by Hon. Judge Botsford, Jan. 16, 1885 – 15 leaves of textual records.

Note:      Item discusses early French settlements in the Chignecto areas of Beau Basin, Tantramar, Memramcook, Shepody and Bay Verte as well as settlers following the expulsion of the Acadians.

Clipping taken from The Moncton Transcript featuring article entitled “Rise and fall of Beausejour: The romantic narrative of the stirring deeds of warfare that centred around the old forts on the Isthmus of Chignecto commanding the highways through the ancient land of Acadia—the Acadian tragedy” / W.C. Milner. – 5 January 1922 – 1 leaf of textual records.

Clipping of article entitled “Fort Cumberland: Beausejour.” – [192-?] – 1 leaf of textual records.

Clipping of article entitled “The lure of Beausejour” reprinted from The Toronto Globe. – [192-?]. – 1 leaf of textual records.

Clipping taken from Le Moniteur Acadien with articles entitled “Siège et prise du fort Beauséour par les Anglais en 1755” by Charles D. Hebert and “Glossaire Acadien” by Pascal Poirier. – [19--?] – 1 leaf of textual records.

Clipping of article entitled “An interesting bit of history about area around Beausejour.” / Will R. Bird. – [19--?] – 1 leaf of textual records.

Clipping taken from The Morning Chronicle of The NovaScotian with article entitled “‘The “island” on the marshes’: Some bits of history of the stories Isthmus of Chignecto which are not generally known---a land rich in romance” / Will R. Bird. – 1 January 1925. – 1 leaf of textual records.

Typescript copy of a letter from M. Duquesne to M. de la Marti(inière) dated 18 March 1754. – [n.d.]. – 2 leaves of textual records.

Typescript copy of “De l’expulsion a la prise de Quebec: extrait du journal que j’ay tenu sur les différents événements qui se sont passés en l’Acadye depuis la prise du fort de Beauséjour.” / Monsieur de Boishébert, Lieutenant d’infanterie et commandant à la rivière St. Jean. – 20 July 1755. – 3 leaves of textual records.

Typescript copy of “Beausejour: Mémoires sur le Canada.” – [n.d.] – 15 leaves of textual records.

Copied extract from “Amerique du Nord: Ile Royale, Ile St. Jean. 1717-1758.” / Marcelles Descarries – 1 May 1924 – 6 leaves of textual records.

Clippings taken from The Telegraph-Journal with article entitled “Early history of Baie Verte in four instalments” / Emma G. Prescott. – [1929?] – 4 leaves of textual records.

-- 20 June 1888 -- 1 cartographic record : ink on linen ; 56 x 80 cm.

Item is a reproduction of a map [Scale 1 : 63,360] created by Capt. Lewis circa 1755 that was reproduced by an unidentied draftsman with the initials J.H.H. The item shows Shepody Bay, the Chignecto Basin, and the area centered on Fort Beausejour, Beaubassin, and Minudie. The map also shows the portage to the Baie Verte and Fort Gaspereau.

-- 1825-1828. -- 1 envelope, 2 affixed leaves with seal of textual and cartographic ; 32 x 39 cm or smaller.

File contains two grants in the vicinity of Shediac, Westmorland County, New Brunswick. One of the item is a land grant that documents a series of lots that were offered to the following individuals: Isaac Hatchi [sic], Paul Richard, Morris Hatchi [sic], Simon Legere, Romain Arceneau [sic], Peter Poirrier, Sr. [sic], Thomas Poirrier [sic], Laurant Hatchi [sic], Joseph Poirrier [sic], Alexander Tibodo [sic], Peter Poirrier, Jr. [sic], Placide Poirrier, Jr. [sic], Maximan Gallong [sic], Sylvan Arceneau [sic].

The survey also documents properties referencing the following names: David Melanson, John Bellivou [sic], Columb Conner, Patrick Fogarty, Joseph Sewell, Richard Hodgson, John Lang, William Bateman and land granted to Joseph Williams and others that was purchased by William Hanington.

The more common spelling of the Acadian surnames in this grant could include: Arsenault, Belliveau, Gallant, Hache, Poirier, and Thibodeau.

-- 1695, [reproduced bef. 1970] -- 1 leaf of textual records ; 44 x 35 cm folded to 22 x 35 cm.

 

File contains a white on black positive reproduction of a document held by the Massachusetts Archives written in English and French signed by Acadians to show allegiance to King William III sometime between 1689 and 1702 [probably 1695]. Item includes a list of Acadian men who swore allegiance to the King of England, Scotland, Ireland and France by either signing their name or in the majority of cases making their mark on the document. Item appears to have been taken from Vol. 2, page 540 of an unidentified volume. The verso indicates the year 1695.


J. Edward Belliveau fonds

Fonds contains articles written and published by Acadian journalist “Ned” Belliveau on the topics of Acadians in the Maritime provinces.

5889 J. Edward Belliveau fonds -- 1850, 1975-1988 -- 0.5 cm of textual records and graphic materials including: 29 leaves, 3 envelopes of textual records; 6 photographs, 4 negatives : b&w, col ; 10.5 x 14.5 cm.

Items of potential interest include:

2.1 Clipping of article entitled “Lester and Louis… an unlikely and wholly fascinating friendship” published in The Atlantic Advocate / J.E. (Ned) Belliveau. – April 1975. – 4 leaves of textual records and graphic materials.

2.2 Clipping of article entitled “On the trails of the Acadians: Ancestors in fairyland” published in The Atlantic Advocate / J.E. Belliveau. – September 1975. – 2 leaves of textual records and graphic materials.

2.4 Copy of an article entitled “The other French of the Maritimes” published in The Atlantic Advocate / J.E. Belliveau. – December 1988. – 3 leaves of textual records and graphic materials.

 

John Edward “Ned” Belliveau was born in Moncton, New Brunswick on 20 June 1913, the son of Phileas Andre Belliveau and Anna M. (Leger) Belliveau. He attended Aberdeen High School but left a year before finishing due to family misfortunes. He had an early interest in journalism and succeeded in becoming the first journalist of Acadian origin to join the English newspaper The Moncton Transcript in 1930. He joined the Windsor Star in 1941, covering the Ontario legislature and events in Ottawa as a reporter. Beginning in 1945 he served as a correspondent for the Toronto Star and the Star Weekly Magazine. He also served as a vice-president of Tandy Advertising Limited of Toronto, Ontario where he worked on promotions relating to the Liberal Party. In this capacity he served as a political counsellor and director of electoral campaigns for Louis J. Robichaud in New Brunswick (1959-1970); Gerald Regan in Nova Scotia (1966-1971); and Alex Campbell on Prince Edward Island (1966-1973). He was also an amateur local historian and published the following books: The Monctonians (two volumes – 1981-1982); The splendid life of Albert Smith and the women he left behind (1976); Running far in: the story of Shediac (1977); A place called Pointe-du-Chene: an informal history 1684-1974 (1974); The Moncton Club: a history, 1909-1979 (1979); Little Louis and the giant KC (1980); The headliners: behind the scenes memories (1984); The Belliveau family / la famille Belliveau, 1695-1983 (1984); The Coffin murder case (1958). He married Gertrude Adell Pujolas (1911-2008) in 1940 and the couple had five sons: William, Michael, Richard, Timothy and Peter. He died in March of 1998. Fonds consists of copies of published articles along with correspondence and research materials and photographs used in some of Belliveau’s published works, including a letter to Chief Librarian of the Ralph Pickard Bell Library explaining why he did not donate these items to the Acadian Studies Centre / Centre d'etudes acadiennes at the Universite de Moncton. The photographs relate specifically to the Sir Albert Smith family of Dorchester and Shediac Cape, New Brunswick. The research document is a facsimile of a report for the Westmorland County Grammar School in Shediac submitted in 1850.


J.A. Humphrey and Son, Limited fonds

Fonds consists of correspondence along with business documents including account statements, orders, employee information and shipping documents. The fonds is complemented with promotional materials and a number of miscellaneous items. The contents of the fonds provides evidence of the work of this woollen mill and its impact beyond its immediate environs. There is also strong evidence of its involvement with the French-speaking community both in New Brunswick (Acadians) and Quebec.

7653/39 J.A. Humphrey and Son, Limited fonds -- 1854-1954 -- 28 volumes, 3 booklets, 1979 leaves, 14 envelopes of textual records. – 10 drawings ; 49 x 37.5 cm or smaller. – 41 samples, 1 colour sampler, 2 series of clothing labels, 1 stir stick.

John Albert (J.A.) Humphrey (1823-1895) purchased a parcel of land on Humphrey’s Brook, New Brunswick in 1850. In 1881 Mr. Humphrey in partnership with William and John Snow established a woolen mill on the stream which is three miles from the center of Moncton, New Brunswick under the firm name of W.C. Snow & Co. The first machinery for manufacturing cloth was started in December of that same year. On 1 May 1882 his son, William F. Humphrey (1860-1928) was admitted to the original firm which changed its name to Humphrey and Snow. During 1884 the original factory was further enlarged and the power source changed from water to steam which helped to see its capacity increase by a factor of ten. The buildings expanded from a small wooden shed to several brick buildings, each with a concrete foundation. In February of 1880 John A. Humphrey and his son were able to buy out the interest of the Snows in the business and the name of the business was officially changed to J.A. Humphrey & Son. They continued the business manufacturing; tweeds, flannels, homespun and yarns principally drawn from domestic wool. The company’s agent was Mr. A. Winfield Scott. The area came to be know as Humphrey’s Mills as a result of their direct involvement with the business. By 1890 the business comprised seventeen buildings including: dye-houses for the woolen mills, warehouses, storage sheds, granaries for the grist mill, repair shops, horse barns, a seven-storey smokestack, and engine houses to power the enterprise. At the time, the mill employed 44 people. During 1900 an additional 2000 square feet of space was added to the business, the mill operated 305 days a year and offered employment to 100 workers. In 1904 the business was incorporated as a joint stock company under the name of J.A. Humphrey & Son, Limited. The year 1923 saw the completion of a dam which created a reservoir used to provide water to power the Humphrey’s Mill businesses. During the 1960s the power source switched to public utilities and the water was no longer required. John A. Humphrey died in 1895 and the ownership of the business transferred to his son, William. The business remained in the family until it was purchased by William Collie of Appleton, Ontario in the spring of 1952.


John G. Reid fonds

Fond contains a number of papers, presentations and notes prepared by John G. Reid on the topic of early Acadian history.

Conferences, lectures and, addresses -- 1984-2013

9118/4/2 "Loyalists and Acadians" - a lecture given to a University of New Brunswick (Saint John) class held at the New Brunswick Museum. -- 22 March 1978.

9118/4/3 Two lectures on Acadian history given before a civilization class at the University of New Brunswick (Saint John), 16 January 1979. -- 1978-1979. --

9118/4/5 "Acadia and New France: a re-examination of the seventeenth century experience" - a public lecture given at the Universite de Moncton. -- March 1983.

9118/5/2 "Acadian workshop: the first archaeology and history conference on early Acadia." -- 15-17 November 1984.

2007.36/11 Samuel de Champlain 400th anniversary conference. – 2002-2004. – 9 folders of textual records

2007.36/16 Planter lecture. – 2003-2004. – 2 folders of textual records.

2007.36/16/2 Report on Le lieutenant civil et criminal: Mathieu de Goutin, en Acadie francaise (1688-1710) by Jacques Vanderlinden.

2007.36/28 Writing the history of Francophone Canada: challenges, issues, possibilities – Writing the history of Acadie, in the contexts of the history of the Atlantic world and Aboriginal history = Ecrire l’histoire du Canada francophone: defis, enjeux, possibilities - Ecrire l’histoire de l’Acadie, aux contextes de l’histoire due monde de l’Atlantique et l’histoire autochtone / John G. Reid. – 2006. – 1 folder of textual records

2007.36/33 Ecrire l’Acadie en lien avec les mondes atlantique et autochtone / John G. Reid. – 2007. – 1 folder of textual records

2007.36/34 Champlain’s 1604 map = carte tracee par Champlain en 1604. – 2004. – 1 laminated composite Item was given for participation in the Champlain lectures (August 2004) on the occasion of the 400th anniversary of the French expedition to Nova Scotia.

2014.73/25 Panel presentation entitled “Acadia/Nova Scotia and the Atlantic world = L’acadie / Nouvelle Ecosse et le monde de l’Atlantique” delivered at the annual meeting of the French Colonial Historical Society. – 13 June 2013. – 9 leaves of textual records

 

Committees and organizations -- 1984-1989

9118/7/5 Acadian inventory project. -- 1984-1985. --

File consists of documentation compiled by John G. Reid while trying to initiate, along with others, a project to inventory documents concerning Acadians at various repositories. The contents include a project description, correspondence, Challenge '85 forms and grant information.

 

Correspondence with individuals -- 1979-1984

9721/153 Typewritten letter from David A. Nichols (Lincolnville, Maine) to John G. Reid. – 19 November 1982. – 1 leaf of textual records. The contents of the correspondence deal with the legend of the “Grande Caravanne,” the story of 800 Acadians who apparently walked 600 miles from Boston to the Bay of Fundy in 1766 in an attempt to return to their exiled lands.

9721/197 Typewritten letter from O. Harold Warwick (London, Ontario) to John G. Reid with enclosed document on Mount House in Gagetown, New Brunswick. – 19 April 1984. – 10 leaves of textual records. The contents of the correspondence deal with Warwick’s interest in Acadian history. Warwick graduated from Mount Allison in 1935.


Judith Rygiel fonds

Fonds consists of two theses written by Judith Rygiel on the topic of handweaving in New Brunswick during the nineteenth-century.

2000.20/1 Women of the cloth - weavers in Westmorland and Charlotte Counties, New Brunswick 1871-1891 -- 1998 --1 volume (146 pages) of textual records. Item is a copy of a Master of Arts thesis submitted by Judith Rygiel to the Faculty of Graduate Studies and Research in partial fulfilment of the requirements for the degree of Master of Arts, Department of History at Carleton University in Ottawa, Ontario. The item is dated 15 April 1998.

2004.11 The Homespun Economy: Persistence of Handweaving In New Brunswick In The Nineteenth Century -- 2004 -- 1 volume (279 pages) of textual records. Item is a thesis written by graduate student Judith Anne Rygiel, submitted to the Faculty of Graduate Studies and Research, Department of History, Carleton University, Ottawa, in partial fulfilment of the requirements for the degree of Doctor of Philosophy.

Judith Rygiel is a textile artist from eastern Ontario and at the time of donation was a student at Carleton University in Ottawa. She is a master weaver, textile historian and dye specialist, She hand-paints her warps to create complex colour arrangements. She has operated a weaving studio for more than thirty-five years, and has written and taught courses in weaving, spinning, dyeing and textile-history. She also curated an exhibition of early 20th century Acadian wedding textiles.


Phyllis Stopps collection

Collection contains a photograph of a large group of employees from the Enterprise Foundry in Sackville, New Brunswick, and includes a number of Acadian workers.

2011.18/1 Large group of employees in front of the office of the Enterprise Foundry on Lorne Street in Sackville, New Brunswick -- 1913 (reproduced 2011). -- 1 copyprint : b&w, 20.5 x 25.5 cm

Item contains the following individuals left to right: Christopher Piper, Billy [Kermear?], Carl Estabrooks, [Doug?] LaShore – second row: Danny McLeod, unidentified Scottie, Horace Thompson, Ed McDonald, Mel Fillmore, Mrs. Richardson, Fred Patterson, Ned Fleming, Seth Campbell, [Art Kinnear?], Les Estabrooks, Ross Phinney, Ned McDonald, Harry Chapman – third row: Billie [Wirrell?], Casey White, Arlington Rafuse, unidentified Hoar, unidentified Chase, Walter Carter, Luther Estabrooks, Napper, William Fillmore, Hedley Goodwin – next row: David Burke, Gordon Estabrooks, Earl Goodwin, Art Turner, Henry Amos, John Wry, Randall Babcock, Seward Wheaton, Jesse Crossman, Lorne Goodwin, Art Noiles, Aubrey Hicks, Harry Grey, Albury Leblanc, Bert Richardson, G. Lund, S. Lund, Trueman McDonald, Tupper Kilcup, Theodore [Ehrhardt?], George Pond, Arne Hicks, Fred King, George Bembridge, unidentified Cole, John Cole, Stanley Crawford, Frank Phinney, William Haines, Joe Melanson, Chester McLeod, unidentified [Windere?], Ed Ehrhardt, Frank Crossman – man on horse: Art Maxwell.
The reprint of this image was acquired from Mrs. Clare


Ross Flemington fonds

Fonds contains a file of notes, correspondence, and a typescript manuscript relating to Mount Allison President Flemington’s talk honoring the bicentennial of the expulsion of the Acadians, which aired on CBC radio in August 1955.

7804/IC/1 Acadians – June 1955 – March 1956. – 1 folder of textual records.


Sackville Community Arts Council fonds

Fond contains a sub-series of records which document exhibitions that were created by the Community Arts Centre during the course of its activities, including one exhibition on Acadian crafts.

8629/B/3/3/10 L’Acadie exhibitions: Acadian crafts. – 1980


Shirley Anderson collection

Collection contains a panoramic photograph of the employees and administrators of this business situated in front of the business on West Main Street in Sackville, New Brunswick, and includes a number of Acadian names.

9926.1 Photograph of the employees of Enamel & Heating Products Ltd., Plant No. 1, Sackville, N.B. – 1928. Shirley Anderson collection. 1 photograph (panoramic) : b&w ; 18 x 76 cm.


W. L. Webster collection

Collection consists of newspaper clippings concerning the French-English question in New Brunswick and Canada, taken primarily from New Brunswick newspapers between 1964 and 1968. The contents of the collection shed light on the rise of bilingualism in Canada, the plight of francophone minorities in various provinces, including Acadians in New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, and Prince Edward Island, opinions on Quebec separatism and the proposed Maritime Union, coverage of Canadian and provincial politics, and widespread discussions on the subject of constitutional law around the time of the Canadian Centennial celebrations of 1967.

7413 W. L. Webster collection -- 1964-1968 -- 15 cm of textual records.

  1. New Brunswick related newspaper clippings. – 1964-1968. – 1 folder of textual records.
  2. New Brunswick bilingualism. – 1964-1968. – 1 folder of textual records.
  3. New Brunswick education. – 1964-1968. – 1 folder of textual records.
  4. Louis J. Robichaud – 1964-1968. – 1 folder of textual records.
  5. Nova Scotia related newspaper clippings– 1964-1968 – 1 folder of textual records.
  6. Prince Edward Island related newspaper clippings – 1964-1968 – 1 folder of textual records.
  7. The Maritime Provinces related newspaper clippings – 1964-1968. – 1 folder of textual records.
  8. Maritime Union – 1964-1968. – 1 folder of textual records.
  9. Acadian related newspaper clippings – 1964-1968. – 1 folder of textual records.
  10. Indigenous related newspaper clippings – 1965-1966, 1968. – 1 folder of textual records.
  11. Student activism related newspaper clippings – 1964-1966, 1968. – 1 folder of textual records.
  12. Royal Commission on Bilingualism and Biculturalism related newspaper clippings. – 1964-1968. – 1 folder of textual records.
  13. Constitutional items related newspaper clippings. – 1964-1968. – 1 folder of textual records.
  14. Estates-General of French Canada related newspaper clippings. – 1964-1968. – 1 folder of textual records.
  15. Languages in Canada related newspaper clippings. – 1964-1968. – 1 folder of textual records.
  16. Politics in Canada related newspaper clippings. – 1964-1968. – 1 folder of textual records.
  17. Miscellaneous news from l’Évangeline. – 1964-1968. – 1 folder of textual records.

Dr. William Lusk Webster was born in Shediac, Westmorland County, New Brunswick on 30 July 1903. He was the youngest of three children born to John Clarence Webster (1863-1950) and Alice Kessier Lusk (1880-1933). He was educated at the University of Toronto and at Cambridge University, where he received his Ph.D. in Physics in 1926. Following his father’s death in 1950, Dr. Webster returned to Shediac, working to continue his father’s legacy. He became a trustee of the Webster Museum Foundation at the New Brunswick Museum and was involved in the Fort Beauséjour Museum, a project that had been spearheaded in part by his father. He also pursued some of his father’s research interests on the history of Shediac, Westmorland, and Chignecto areas.


Winthrop Pickard Bell fonds

Fond contains files of correspondence that discuss the 1710 British expedition against the Acadian settlement at Port Royal and a work entitled “Acadian reminiscences” by Felix Voorhies.

6501.1/13 Correspondence exchanged between Sylvia L. England and Dr. Winthrop Bell -- 1963 -- 11 leaves, 1 envelope of textual records.

File consists of two letters and an envelope relating to correspondence exchanged between Sylvia England and Dr. Bell. The contents of the file include an account of the 1710 expedition against the Acadian settlement at Port Royal led by Lord Aylmer. The subsequent reply indicates that a copy of the transcript had been forwarded to the Public Archives of Nova Scotia and outlined details of payment for receiving this information

6501.1/15 Correspondence between Dr. C. Bruce Fergusson and Dr. Winthrop Bell -- 1961-1964 -- 13 leaves of textual records.

File consists of two sets of correspondence exchanged between Dr. Bell and the Dr. Fergusson of the Public Archives of Nova Scotia. The contents of the file answer questions relating to the Agent for the Province of Nova Scotia in London, England during the 1760s and about the veracity of a work entitled “Acadian reminiscences” by Felix Voorhies.