Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Mount Allison University Libraries | Music Library
Banner image link to Mount Allison UniveristyMount Allison University ArchivesImage Map

History of Acadians at Mount Allison: Journals and Articles

A virtual exhibit on the history of Acadians at Mount Allison University and in Sackville, New Brunswick..

Banner: The History of Acadians at Mount Allison

Journals and Articles


This page contains contains a select list of key databases for your linguistic, cultural, or historical research on Acadians. Got a question? The Librarians at the Ralph Pickard Bell Library will be happy to help. Visit the Reference Service and Research Help page for more information.

  • Full Text
 

This database provides access to historical material on the people and places of the Isthmus of Chignecto held by the Ralph Pickard Bell Bell Library, Mount Allison University, Sackville, NB.

 
 

Major index for historical coverage of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Subjects covered include popular culture, women's studies, anthropology, folklore, sociology, economics, music, art, etc. Coverage: 1964-present.

 
 

Over 8,000 titles from 47 Canadian publishers and Cambridge University Press, Oxford University Press, and Taylor & Francis. Covers subjects in the Arts & Humanities, Social Sciences and Sciences.

  • Full Text
 
The Early Canadiana Online collection of rare books, magazines and government publications has over 80,000 titles (3,500,000 pages) and is growing. The collection includes material published from the time of the first European settlers to the first four decades of the 20th Century.
Coverage: The 1600s to the 1940s
  • Full Text
 

Érudit is a multi-institutional publishing consortium comprised of the Univ. de Montréal, Univ. Laval and Univ. du Québec à Montréal. This collection includes subscription journals, books and proceedings, theses, and documents and data. Most titles are published in French; there are also a few bilingual and English titles. The academic journal Acadiensis is available through this database.

 
 

Eureka provides access to Canadian, U.S. and international news sources. Includes small, local news sources (such as the Sackville Tribune Post), larger international sources (such as The Independent (UK)), television news transcripts, and more.

 
 

Access to thousands of National Film Board productions online

  • Full Text
 

Search all ProQuest databases simultaneously: ABI, Canadian Research Index, CBCA, Periodicals Archive Online, the Politics Collection (PAIS, Policy File Index, Political Science Database, Worldwide Political Abstracts), Philosopher's Index, ProQuest Central, Research Library, and the Historical Newspapers collections of the Globe & Mail (1844-2013) and Toronto Star (1894-2015).

 
 

This Grey House Canada online resource includes multiple databases and provides access to "tens of thousands of cultural and professional organizations, government offices, law firms, banks, health and education facilities, libraries, and the media ranging from magazines to broadcasters," and more.

 

Index to over 220 peer-reviewed journals published by Cambridge University Press and covering all subjects in the Humanities and Social Sciences. Full text access was cancelled in June 2015.

  • Full Text
 

A searchable full-image version of the Globe & Mail since its beginning in 1844.

  • Full Text
 

Full-text archive of journals in the Arts & Humanities, Social Sciences and Sciences. Current and recent volumes (last 2 to 5 years) not available for most titles.

  • Full Text
 

Full-text database with scholarly journal articles and other sources covering linguistics.

Oxford Academic

  • Full Text
 

A retrospective full-text collection of over 80 French-language, refereed, scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences, and a variety of serial publications such as reports, directories, and conference proceedings.

  • Full Text
 

SAGE Journals Online provides online access to the full text of more than 560 SAGE journals. The SAGE Full-Text Collections, SAGE's discipline-specific research databases, are now integrated into SAGE Journals Online.

  • Full Text
 

Includes all Taylor & Francis Social Sciences and Humanities journals. Covers Arts and Humanities, Business and Management, Economics, Education and Social Sciences.

  • Full Text
 

A searchable full-image version of the Toronto Star since its beginning in 1894.

  • Full Text
 

Wiley Online Library features 1500 journals, over 14,000 Online Books, and hundreds of multi-volume reference works, databases, and other resources.