Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This page guide contains a list of useful web sources that deal with Acadian history. These sources include virtual exhibitions at other archival institutions and online resources that might help with genealogical research.
Acadian Heartland: Records of the Deportation and Le Grand Dérangement, 1714-1768
The largest and most complete online presentation of primary-source documents relating to the Deportation of the Acadians from Nova Scotia, digitized and fully searchable via the Nova Scotia Provincial Archives.
Acadians: a virtual exhibition by the Nova Scotia Provincial Archives
Virtual Archives, Resource Guides and Databases that relate to the Acadians of Nova Scotia.
Auteures acadiennes: Women's (Life) Writing in Acadie
Designed as a research tool by Monika Boehringer, former professor at Mount Allison University, this site is for anyone interested in Acadian writing by women.
Un site gratuit de généalogie acadienne et un peu celle québécoise.
Mgr Donat Robichaud Genealogical and Historical Research Collection
This database provides researchers with full access to Mgr. Donat Robichaud's documentary corpus, which covers the years from 1887 to 1957 and focuses mainly on northeastern New Brunswick,
Music: Cape Breton's Diversity in Unity
A virtual exhibition of the Beaton Institute's archival holdings featuring songs and photographs from Cape Breton Island's Mi'kmaq, Acadian, Gaelic, and coal mining communities.